Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Didn't make it with the bread but loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Wow- this would have been awesome if I had done maybe a teaspoon of salt... The tablespoon was WAY too salty and we could barely eat it. We ended up whipping up some Alfredo sauce and shells and mixing the fish into that to save the meal. I will make it again, I think it is a great concept- but WAY to salty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This was really good. I had never tried tilapia before and the spices were just perfect. Even my fish- hating sister ate half of a fillet! I subbed black pepper for the white, and I didn't find the overall taste too spicy or salty. The only thing I noticed was that there weren't any "juices" that formed during the cooking process, but it still tasted great on the bread. Tell that hobo thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I love spicy hot, but prefer spicy hot with flavor. Other than the medium warm heat from three types of ground pepper, this fish was bland. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
omitted the oregano and doubled the thyme, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
OMG, I LOVE this. I cheated and just bought Zatarains blackening seasoning to save time & amount of spices to buy. I also served it over brown rice instead of bread. I wouldn't have had any pan juices left over for bread anyways. For the brown rice: I used the brown rice in a bag and cooked it in chicken broth instead of water, when done, I added 1 tbsp butter, some garlic salt & worcestershire sauce. I placed this fish on top of the rice. Everyone loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this with all the ingredients but I broiled it instead of frying it, just a little healthier option and wow was it delicious! The edges were crispy and so tasty, I gave the recipe to many others because I loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olivehurst, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Delicious! I didn't use all of the oil the recipe called for, so we didn't have any drippings. Served with veggies and plain rice (the plain rice was nice because of the strong flavors of the spices). Thanks for the recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Love it! This was added to our "must-do-again" list. I particularly enjoyed having the satisfaction of blending the rub myself rather than shaking it from a cardboard can. Two minutes to blend and a little extra satisfaction make it all worth while. I recommend that this be prepared according to the recipe before making adjustments. You will not regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom  Hansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goshen, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Just made this and it was fast, easy and tasty. I used a pre-mixed Cajun seasoning and put it over Jasmine rice. A very light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States