Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
very good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Easy to make and very good! I'll be making this more often. It was good without the slice of white bread underneath, I served with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Too heavy on the spices. Makes it too spicy and takes away the wonderful taste of the tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Great recipe, we've made it several times. The lemon juice is optional as we don't always have it. Goes great with steamed white rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kizzy Anel
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Congrats on a wonderful recipe. You're so lucky to have found this recipe in a poor mans coat pocket. I wish there more people out there to take what was not yours so we could have many more excellent recipes like this! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I'm not sure what I did wrong, since I followed the recipe exactly (other than cutting it down to 2 servings). I got the oil hot, then put the rubbed fish in. After about 2 minutes, it started smoking, but I figured that was part of the recipe. When I turned it over after 3 minutes, the bottom side was black, but again, I figured, well, it's "blackened", so it was probably fine. After another minute of cooking, I had to turn on the overhead fan and open two windows because of the smoke. After another minute, I couldn't stand to be in the kitchen because I was coughing so much on the smoke. I had to stop it. I put the fish on a plate. The smoke stopped -- yay! Unfortunately, I was not able to flake it with a fork. I hope it was overdone and not underdone. The flavor was very good, and I'd make it again if I could figure out how to keep it from smoking so badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Very tasty! A bit too spicy, but yet it was very good!! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Summersville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Great recipe for tilapia! We used to eat a lot of tilapia from Lake Victoria in Uganda where the fish has wonderful flavor and experimented with tons of recipes. This one is a great change from the usual butter, dill, and lemon type recipes. We did not do the bread as white bread in Uganda is horrible but was great with orzo or rice. Thanks for rolling that hobo for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Just tried this recipe and it was so good! I served it over rice because the thought of soggy bread was too gross. Even my fish hating sister enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
very good way of serving tilapia. i'm sure you can use this on other fish/meats as well. also, you can make the spice rub in advance and just keep it in a sealed container for quick cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States