Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Great taste and simple to do! I used approximations and none of the oregano, thyme or celery seed and it still worked out nice and yummy! The note about the bread is TRUE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmarielaurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Good recipe. I skipped the bread part as it did not sound too appetizing. The mixture is definitely spicy, so keep that in mind when applying. Easy and quick---good for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This turned out 5 star restaurant quality!! Instead of using all those ingredients I used Durkee Grill Creations Seafood Seasonings. I sprinkled in evenly on both sides and then let it set for a half hour. 1 pound of tilapia was 4 pieces which wouldn't fit in one large skillet.....I used 2 skillets at the same time with 1 tablespoon of oil in each. The cook time was perfect. I didn't pour juices out of the pan, but just the lemon. I made tartar sauce to go with it. I made some breadsticks along the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Love this recipe. The Blackened dry mixture I have made in large quantities and given them out as X-mas presents with the recipe attached
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I could give this recipe 4 stars with the following modifications. 1st, the spice rub is really enough for 2lbs of filllets. We had more than half remaining after a thick coating on both sides of 4 fillets (1lb). 2nd, the cayenne pepper suggested is way too much for the average person. I love spicy food and this was borderline too hot to enjoy. I'll use about 75% less next time so that my wife and 8yr old can eat it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Emmert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I love this recipe but I generally use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a good starter recipe. I think to make it 5 stars, someone needs to play w/ their own taste. I did add a teaspoon of cumin in the mix. Also, instead of just white bread. I made a butter/olive oil/lemon juice mixture w/ the same type of spices for the blackened fish. I coated the sourdough slice in the mixture and baked for a large crunchy crouton and then laid the fish on top of the crouton. This provided a contrasting crunch w/ the soft fish and added major flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very spicy, but good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is great and so easy and quick. You can make an open face sandwich with tarter sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dookie007
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Save yourself some time and buy Blackened Old Bay Seasoning. It's the same thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States