Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! It's very important to use a cast iron skillet though. And coat the fish generously before letting it sit for 20 minutes. I also used more oil and it gave it crispy edges. Yum! I will make this again many times. The kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natacha Pellerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I've made this dozens of times over the past few years and it's always a hit! I never have white pepper on hand, so I just add more black pepper. I also never have celery seeds and it's great without it. Still not sure why one would pickpocket a sleeping hobo, but I'm thankful for the recipe, nonetheless! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was the best fish my family and I have ever eaten. The only change I made was eliminating the black pepper and using just a dash of cayenne because I don't like my food too spicy. There were not a lot of pan juices and we ate the fish without the white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made it as specified, but the spices got really blackened (my oil was not too hot) but the fish itself was amazing! I will make it again but not pour the leftover pan stuff over it. Make sure you use a lot of lemon, too, it just creates this amazing flavor with the chicken. YUM! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
It was good, loved the spicy. The only thing I didn't like was the celery seed...never liked celery..apparently that taste carries over to its seed as well! Even in such a small amount it was a flavor that stuck out to me. Next time no celery seed...otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These were average. I don't think I will be making it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Excellent, use a little less salt. Perfect will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is a great way to get some flavor into the tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Pretty good! A bit too spicy for me, but my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. I am not a big fish lover, but I love this dish. It is very easy to make and very quick. I pair it with rice pilaf. I haven't tried it yet with the the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States