Blackened Tilapia with Secret Hobo Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Another quick and yummy meal ... the spice mix makes the Tilapia taste extremely good. And as the recipe was written - we didn't underestimate the bread. The juice from cooking was a wonderful addition to moisten up the bread and add another layer of flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapper9494

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Besides being intriguing (how did these secret hobo spices become known?), this was a tasty and quick dish to prepare. I didn't serve this on bread, and omitted the celery seed and lemon because I didn't have any on hand. Be prepared for this to smoke...a lot. Both the boyfriend and I enjoyed it, so I'll probably be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is a new family staple. I needed to lose weight, and tilapia was recommended. I use EVOO and skip the drippings with bread. But even my non-spicy, non-fish-eating family members like this. I quadrupled the spice and it fits nicely in an 8 oz empty cinnamon jar. I just sprinkle on tilapia before throwing on my hot cast iron griddle. It is VERY fast, so I make sure all my sides are done before making this. Goes well with a baked sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME! It's very important to use a cast iron skillet though. And coat the fish generously before letting it sit for 20 minutes. I also used more oil and it gave it crispy edges. Yum! I will make this again many times. The kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natsonline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I've made this dozens of times over the past few years and it's always a hit! I never have white pepper on hand, so I just add more black pepper. I also never have celery seeds and it's great without it. Still not sure why one would pickpocket a sleeping hobo, but I'm thankful for the recipe, nonetheless! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was the best fish my family and I have ever eaten. The only change I made was eliminating the black pepper and using just a dash of cayenne because I don't like my food too spicy. There were not a lot of pan juices and we ate the fish without the white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made it as specified, but the spices got really blackened (my oil was not too hot) but the fish itself was amazing! I will make it again but not pour the leftover pan stuff over it. Make sure you use a lot of lemon, too, it just creates this amazing flavor with the chicken. YUM! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
It was good, loved the spicy. The only thing I didn't like was the celery seed...never liked celery..apparently that taste carries over to its seed as well! Even in such a small amount it was a flavor that stuck out to me. Next time no celery seed...otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These were average. I don't think I will be making it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Excellent, use a little less salt. Perfect will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States