Blackened Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was perfect! I decided last minute I wanted blackened chicken tacos and was able to whip this up in a heart beat. I subbed Mrs. Dash salt free italian seasonings for the thyme since I didn't have any. It came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Farmingville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We were looking for a good blackened seasoning recipe and this was good. Not as spicy as we were looking for, but we made some kicked up dipping sauce to go with the meat we were putting this rub on. Next time, we will be adding a little more spice, but not salty as we have found wih other receipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good seasoning. I made this to use on top of some cod, and it was very good. I'm not a big fish eater, but this definitely helped! This one is going in the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Over the years I have tried a number of Cajun/blackening seasonings and some time ago settled on one that Hubs and I both love and have used exclusively since - until now. We also agree that THIS seasoning mix is even better. Always mindful of Hubs' sensitive innards I reduced the cayenne by half, leaving all else the same. We used it to blacken grouper in a cast iron pan on our outdoor grill - just out of this world. All the seasonings blend cooperatively with each other to create a whole new taste - in other words, no one spice stands out. And for us, cutting the cayenne by half was just right. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
A huge hit with my family. This is the best blackened seasoning recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a great blackening recipe. I have made it a few times and it is super easy to make with mostly ingredients that I always have on hand. I do have an 8 year old who it is too spicy for so if you might need to omit the cayenne for those with sensitive tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
An excellent salt-free seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Great rub recipe. Nice not to have all the sodium that others have in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Excellent. This has been added to the list of premixed spice blends to always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Thanks so much for posting this recipe! It's great to have some salt free mixes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDriemel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States