Blackened Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This worked very well on a flank steak that I grilled for a steak salad. I cut the cayenne pepper in half and I wish I wouldn't have. I was afraid it would be too spicy for me, but next time I'll use the full amount. Thanks for sharing this recipe, DJBPITT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
turned out very nice. I used this to make blackened fish tacos, I've also used it for blackened shrimp salad, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jobanana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Easy to make, never goes wrong. Most importantly, the kids love it. Important: add salt to taste. Works really well on tilapia blackened in a cast iron skillet. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Tried this on salmon tonight, lacked any flavor or spice. No way would I try this again. When I want a blackened season I want some spice and flavor this had nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Ruchalski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Tried it this way first time then I tweaked it a little. If you do the same amount of pepper but half blackvand half white, than double the salt so it's a 2-1 ratio(2 teaspoons salt, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon white pepper) you have a very flavorful true to style blackening seasoning. Very good on pork, steaks, chicken and mild fish like grouper, trout and tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett Glanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great, however I placed the seasoning in an iron skillet put it on the grill and heated it until it was blackening then threw green beans raw on it. Oh, it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a great blend. I just figured out that I have been wasting a lot of money buying blends. This taught me that I can google anything and get the details of most any blend out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Yep! It's good all right, and just what I was looking for! I have mixed up a batch to keep on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It's okay.... needs salt for sure. Wasn't super flavorful like one that we made previously. Add salt and it's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I usually omit salt from recipes anyways, but love that salt wasn't even on the list. I did not have onion powder, but thought it turned out great anyways. The recipe made more than I needed (put it in a sirloin stir fry), so I had extra to use for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States