Blackened Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Over the years I have tried a number of Cajun/blackening seasonings and some time ago settled on one that Hubs and I both love and have used exclusively since - until now. We also agree that THIS seasoning mix is even better. Always mindful of Hubs' sensitive innards I reduced the cayenne by half, leaving all else the same. We used it to blacken grouper in a cast iron pan on our outdoor grill - just out of this world. All the seasonings blend cooperatively with each other to create a whole new taste - in other words, no one spice stands out. And for us, cutting the cayenne by half was just right. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
this is great on everything. Rub it on ribs, sprinkle on chicken in the crockpot, stew, elk meat, etc. So much potential. Put in jars and shakers and gave it as a gift to the guys at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wonderful! And its salt-free~ Hubby rubbed this on our grilled chicken breasts about an hour before grilling. I'd better go to Costco to get the restaurant-size containers of the spices because I will be making this by the bucket! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Awesome. I used it on salmon last night and now I'm having it on scallops. Just sqeeze a little lime on to cut thruogh the heat and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I thought it was just OK. I put it on a piece of Talapia and some shrimp. In my opinion, the taste of the oregano is too strong for my taste. The wife didn't like it either. The only changes I made were I added a tsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp of celery seeds. I saw them in the ingredients list of Chef Pauls ($5.00) small bottle of 'Redfish Magic'. So, why not! The heat level was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We were looking for a good blackened seasoning recipe and this was good. Not as spicy as we were looking for, but we made some kicked up dipping sauce to go with the meat we were putting this rub on. Next time, we will be adding a little more spice, but not salty as we have found wih other receipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blakely, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Excellent! Used it for seasoning "Pan-Seared Tilapia" from this site. It was perfect for that dish. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good seasoning. I made this to use on top of some cod, and it was very good. I'm not a big fish eater, but this definitely helped! This one is going in the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was perfect for my leftover Prime Rib. I made blackened Prime Rib sandwiches with my leftover pieces of meat. I buttered one side of the Prime Rib, diped both sides in the rub, heated my iron skillet for 10 minutes on High, and blackened the meat buttered-side first for about a minute and then flipped it over. Of course, my kitchen filled up with smoke, but a quick blast with the attic fan took care of that. I cut a baguette in half lengthwise, then into thirds (for 3 sandwiches), toasted each one, added some provolone cheese, sauteed onions and italian dressing. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightmareCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was perfect! I decided last minute I wanted blackened chicken tacos and was able to whip this up in a heart beat. I subbed Mrs. Dash salt free italian seasonings for the thyme since I didn't have any. It came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Farmingville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States