Blackened Seasoning Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is pretty good but I have to agree with the person who said it had an overpowering amount of Oregano. Next time I make it I'll use 1/2 tsp. Oregano instead of 1 tsp. I whirled this mixture in my mini processor until the herbs were finely ground and everything was well mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIKRACER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was Great and easy. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Delicious as is. I made this in a huge batch to give as gifts for Christmas. I think if I made it again, which I probably will, I'll add just a TOUCH of sugar, just to take the abrupt edge off, but the spice is perfect, if you ask me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Nice flavor, but definitely lacking in heat, even with 2 tsp of cayenne, when I tried it on blackened tuna steak. I added two more tsp of cayenne to the remaining blackening spice. We'll see how that works next time I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
way too hot!! good flavor though, next time with cut back on cayenne for sure. don't want to ruin another dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Will use again and again as written. Didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Excellent! Used it for seasoning "Pan-Seared Tilapia" from this site. It was perfect for that dish. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I love this mix. I have been putting it on my fish. So far i tried it with trout, salmon and talapia, and I just smeared a little butter on then added the spices and baked it at 400 until it was done (about 20 or 30 minutes depending on the type of fish). I like the trout the best. I did cut the cayenne in half because not everyone can handle that much heat and I did add a little salt but not actually in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I thought it was just OK. I put it on a piece of Talapia and some shrimp. In my opinion, the taste of the oregano is too strong for my taste. The wife didn't like it either. The only changes I made were I added a tsp of sugar and 1/2 tsp of celery seeds. I saw them in the ingredients list of Chef Pauls ($5.00) small bottle of 'Redfish Magic'. So, why not! The heat level was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was perfect for my leftover Prime Rib. I made blackened Prime Rib sandwiches with my leftover pieces of meat. I buttered one side of the Prime Rib, diped both sides in the rub, heated my iron skillet for 10 minutes on High, and blackened the meat buttered-side first for about a minute and then flipped it over. Of course, my kitchen filled up with smoke, but a quick blast with the attic fan took care of that. I cut a baguette in half lengthwise, then into thirds (for 3 sandwiches), toasted each one, added some provolone cheese, sauteed onions and italian dressing. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightmareCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States