Blackened Salmon Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Read reviews, know hubby doesn't like really spicy food so halved the cayenne. Added a good teaspoon of garlic powder. Had 2 oz fillets with skin, sprinkled half seasoning on them ( saved the other half). Put a couple of small pats of butter on each fillet and baked in foil lined pan 20 minutes at 400 degrees. Really good, served with macaroni salad and peas. Really good! 4 stars because didn't want to mess my stove top with the pan searing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
it was ok - nothing different or unique. look for another blackened fish recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I've been searching for a delicious salmon recipe that didn't involve marinating and this is it!! This is amazing, taste like restaurant quality. I will be making this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This has become our favorite Salmon recipe, even for my husband who won't eat any other seafood. If the heat of the spices gets too overwhelming, I recommend playing with the amount of cayenne pepper. Even just half a teaspoon can give some nice heat but allow for the more subtle flavors of basil and thyme to come out. If your salmon steaks are small (like from Target or Wal-Mart) I suggest putting the butter into the pan and letting it melt. With the salmon coated on both sides with the spices, it only takes 4 minutes on each side to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I just made it and it will be THE recipe I use when I want to cook salmon (except when I make glazed salmon). The only things I did different was omit the cayenne pepper, and replace the 1/2 tsp of white pepper with black pepper (making it a total of 1 tsp of black pepper) EDIT: BTW even with omitting the cayenne pepper, it is still pretty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Wow! Yummy!!! I made this with just two pieces of salmon. I mixed up the spices and put it in a ziplock. I only used one tablespoons for two pieces. Just did it shake and bake style without the butter. I put a little butter in the pan while cooking it. I kept moving it around and around quickly as not to burn it. This was soooo good. I will make it again soon as I have enough left over spice to do at least two more times. It was spicy, but not too bad for me. My husband likes things spicy, so I ate the smaller piece of salmon. I made this with Oven Roasted asparagus from all recipes and garlic bread. So fast and very little clean up on a busy week day. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Wowsa! I love "blackened" food and this was right on the money. I was only making 2 servings so halved everything except the thyme, basil and oregano. Even though I like things spicy I went easy on the cayenne. I didn't find it necessary to do the extra butter drizzle on the fish after it had already been brushed with butter and coated with seasoning. Used a well used and loved cast iron pan that I got sceamin'smokin' hot and didn't oil the pan at all. Put the fish in and didn't touch it until I turned it. Fish didn't stick at all. Sure, had to shut off the smoke detector lol, but a smokey house was totally worth these amazing flavors. Served with roasted sweet potatoes and a salad with lots of bell peppers and a very lemony vinaigrette, both of which went perfectly with the fish. One of the best meals I've made in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this for my boyfriend who loves salmon. I was worried it may be too hot so I halved everything. Looked and smelled amazing while cooking but oh my god was it SPICY. Definitely worth making again but will put even less spice next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Stevenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Great. It was very easy and fast to make on a week night. A little too spicy for me but I still gave it 5 stars because I can change the spices to suit my taste. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States