Blackened Salmon Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Ok, so I discovered this recipe about a month ago, and it is SO absolutely delicious that I've been making it almost 4 times a week since! I have also discovered a few tips while making some better and some worse versions of this recipe. First, be SURE to skin the salmon. If you leave the skin on, the spices won't stick to the skin side of the salmon. Second, don't put the melted butter on the salmon immediately after removing the salmon from the refrigerator. This will cause the butter to harden (because the temperature of the butter will drop), and will cause the spices to cake off the salmon while it is being cooked. Third, don't butter and spice both sides of the salmon right away. After the first side is ready (brushed with butter, sprinkled with spice, and then drizzled with butter), place the fillet in the pan with the spice side down, and then butter and spice the second side. Fourth, don't let the salmon sit in one place in the pan, shake it around a little bit while it is cooking. If you don't, the spices will stick to the pan instead of the salmon. Now this is a tip for those of you who have salmon fillets that are thick (like mine always are). You are going to have to do several things in order for it to cook all the way through. After you drop the salmon onto the frying pan, reduce the heat to medium low, and COVER. After 6 to 7 minutes on that side, flip the salmon over and cover again cooking for another 6 to 7 minutes. BON APETITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1047 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Blackened Salmon is my favorite and this recipe is great. I don't use butter though, I use olive oil and after blackening in the pan I transfer the salmon to a baking sheet and finish them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
638 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This spice rub is fantastic! I didn't use any butter at all. I just drizzled the salmon with olive oil before rubbing it with the spices. It still tasted great. I also broiled it in the oven for about 3 minutes per side, then squeezed some fresh lemon over the fish before serving. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I had this type salmon dish at a local resturant on a ceasar salad. It was so good I wanted to duplicate it at home. After reading the comments I made some adjustments to the recipe and it was a HIT! (using olive oil instead of butter and I used garlic powder instead of onion powder and Cooked in the oven instead of skillet on ONE side only on broil for 5 mins then lower rack and lower temp (350) for another 8-10 mins and it was perfect.) Serve this on a bed of lettuce tossed with crutons, parmesan cheese and cesar dressing and it is fantastic. I got both of my boys to eat salad without complaint. Made lots of extra spice to save for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Gaub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This is about the only salmon recipe that we ever really use. It's fantastic. In fact, I mix the seasoning together in a double batch and keep it in a container in my spice cabinet. You can use it on chicken or steak too. It's just better than any prepared cajun spice from the store. You can lay it on lightly or heavily depending on your taste or mood. You can sprinkle it in soups and stews or chili. But it's especially good on salmon cooked exacly as this recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Very, very good. I will certainly make this again. I only used 1 tablspoon of butter and I added about 5 tablespoons of "Smart Balance" low fat spread. I put it on aluminum foil under the broiler. I broiled both sides for about 5 minutes at 500 degrees each and then reduced the temp to about 350 for another 10 minutes. Hardly any smoke at all and the flavor was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
VERY smokey, do not cook on high. I used med-high and it set off my smoke alarm. I would cook on low-medium. Otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Fantastic!!! You can avoid the "smokey house" effect by using peanut oil instead of butter, although it does change the flavor just a touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
We loved this on Mahi Mahi. I reduced the butter, and substituted half olive oil. I also substituted lemon pepper for the pepper. 3 min. on each side for 1.25 " thick mahi fillets on Med-Hi was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
I am not usually a fan of cajun type spices...but this is excellent. It blackens nicely and has great flavor; not too spicy...just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States