Blackened Salmon Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This is a good recipe, but I definitely agree to cut the cayenne in half. I cut the salt in half too. Blackening seasoning is VERY spicy, so it is best to cook it outside (in a cast iron skillet of course) on the side burner of your grill if you have one. Otherwise, you and everyone else in your house will be sneezing and coughing up a storm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
We LOVE spicy so this was good to us but would probably be too spicy for the average joe. I thought that the proportions of spices were a bit off - too much paprika and not enough other spices. Next time I will probably try the spices from a blackened chicken recipe I found on here instead. Overall a decent meal though. Also, I only used some olive oil instead of butter as per other reviewers suggestions because we are trying to cut calories and it wasn't smokey at all while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
it was easy, only drawback, the smoke from it gave us a major coughing fit. but the taste was superb. we did it in a cast iron skillet. this was the first blackened anything I have ever had, may have to try something else soon! also, there is enough of this mix to use a second time on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Cox Richey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Hubby Loved this!!! Made mine with olive oil instead of butter like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious ! This is the only way I make salmon now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was really good. I did as others said and reduced the cayenne as it was for me and my kids. I like mine pretty cooked, so I put it in the oven for about 10 minutes after blackening and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great just as the recipe is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarnesTM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Way too spicy for my tastes even with a third of the cayenne that the recipe called for. I might try it again with either way less or no cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Followed recipe using smoked paprika, limiting the cayenne for me, lots for my hubby. Simple, quick, and easy to cook. I did add tsp minced garlic to the butter (made this dish tastey but oily) and it turned out well. Better than I expected. Will do it again probably with these same adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
PERFECT SALMON EVERY TIME! GREAT FLAVOR AND SUPPER SIMPLE AND FAST. YOU CAN NOT GO WRONG WITH THIS ONE. I HOWEVER DID CUT THE CAYENNE IN HALF AND DID TRY ONE FULL FLAVORED. MY MAN LOVED THE FULL FLAVORED JUST AS MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States