Blackened Salmon Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe! I substitute the salt with garlic salt, and added 1/2 teaspoon of tandoori seasoning for a slightly different twist. Definitely keep the skin on the salmon and careful not to over-cook when baking or broiling. Bet this rub would be great on trout, can't wait to try it on other thick fleshed fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Made blackened chicken before and it was good. This recipe calls for different ingredients, I figured it was for fish.... Terrible, seriously anyone who put 5 stars on this has broken taste buds or is smoking crack. Oregano, time, basil? No, need to use cumin. I will never eat this again, I choked it down but my force kens fed it to the dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made it for just me and my bf and it was delicious!!! Thank you now I have something else I am able to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
SNAP!!!!! You need to try this recipe - I do t know what else to say but that!!! ... I always order the blackened dish when dining out and this definitely beats any dish I have ever tried! - did I mention that I don't even eat fish?! ... I prepared this fish for my mothers laws birthday as she loves salmon and it was a hit with everyone including myself! ... I did make the recipe exactly as indicated and it was amazing - nothing else but AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
WE LOVED THIS!! We used a minimal amount of olive oil instead of butter, added some garlic powder to the spice mixture (2 tsp.), substituted Sweet Hungarian Paprika for regular paprika, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The salmon we had was pretty thick and it was skinless. Cooked it on medium-high heat in a hot cast iron pan lightly coated with some canola oil, until the deepest part read 125 degrees (medium-rare) about 2 and a half - 3 minutes a side. I hate overcooked salmon and that was perfect! It was so tender and silky. It was 2 1/2 lbs. and it was devoured by 3 of us! Just know that if you cook this indoors especially on stove top, it will smoke up your house, be prepared! If you are cooking the fillets in batches, make sure you carefully wipe the pan out with a couple thick paper towels, between fillets, because although it's "blackened" salmon, you don't want the previous blackened spices etc. for the next fillet. Just add the bare minimum canola oil to barely cover the bottom of the pan in between batches (after wiping the pan out), making sure you move each side a little in the pan to keep it from sticking. Although we lightly coated the fillets with extra virgin olive oil, we used canola oil in the pan it has a much higher smoke point, it just didn't seem right to coat the fillets with anything other than olive oil. I will most definitely be making this again! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
My husband couldn't get over how great our salmon tasted with this recipe! FIVE STARS, even though I used 1 teaspoon of cayenne, which is a lot for me! I don't think that much butter is needed, and I might cut that back a little next time... However, this recipe is absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My husband was looking for something new to do with salmon and this recipe was just the thing. We cut the cayenne pepper in half and grilled it instead of pan searing. It was easy to adjust the amount of seasoning sprinkled on top to suit everyone's level of taste. Served with a wild rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmoran
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I love everything about this recipe! I followed it exactly except used olive oil instead of butter. I also excluded the salt completely. The salmon cooked perfectly just by searing, no broiling or baking needed. I also doubled the spice mixture and saved it to use for later and other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I love Salmon but my wife can take it or leave it. I used your recipe and this was a winner! Your recipe hit a home run in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe is SO good! I only had to buy 1 of the 9 spices. I am not a confident cook. But I was able to make this, and my husband who's a great cook, loved it! Definitely making this salmon again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 574) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States