Blackened Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I thought these were just okay when I made them for a family get together, but I got rave reviews from the family so I'll probably make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This is very heavy. I wouldn't make it again even though it tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Excellent recipe. I did use the crock pot. The flavor is amazing. I used 1.5 lbs bacon that I had the butcher chop for me and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This reminds me of my mothers green beans, you can also add potatoes (quartered or diced) to give it a different flavor. And use ham hocks instead of bacon (cook ham hocks until tender) then add the other ingredients (ham hocks, green beans & potatoes)great with roast, baked chicken, or pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
My husband's very Southern Grandmother made the best green beans I ever tasted, but I never learned how she made them. This is it! I used 4 pounds of frozen beans (couldn't find fresh), all the bacon, and twice the onion. I was short on time, so I didn't brown the bacon and onions and cooked it for about 3 hours. It was wonderful--will probably be even better next time I make it exactly as written. My three men, who usually only tolerate green beans, loved this. Thank you, tinyant1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is one of the all time great southern side dishes. I can't think of any meat it wouldn't be good with, and I have even eatten all by myself. When I do this I cheat (cooking for one) and use a can of green beans with the amount of bacon, onion and garlic you want, oh, don't forget the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Cut the bacon down to 1 lbs. and add potatoes the last two hrs is the way my saintly grandmother did it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I learned this way to cook fresh green beans from my mother, who learned it from her mother and now my grandkids are watching me make green beans this way. We simmer them on the stovetop; have never tried the crock pot method. (Gramma didn't have a crock pot.) This recipe has apparently been enjoyed by many for at least a century. I love tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this for the first time last Thanksgiving and it was a complete hit - none were left! I'm making it again this year. I used half the bacon and slightly more black pepper. I made it on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
used a half a pound of bacon instead of the full 2 and added 3 Tb of olive oil. Cooked on low for 6 hours in the crock pot. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States