Blackened Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Really good spice mix, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Good flavor, but two caveats; Number one, putting a true cast iron skillet on high heat means really, really, REALLY hot. I mean seriously hot. Consider dialing it back from hi. Number two, consider using something other than butter. We substituted coconut oil which has a low smoking point.. filled every last room of the house with thick smoke. If substituting, try using grapeseed or peanut oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
this came out very tasty.. i was making lunch for myself so i reduced the servings to 0.75 (my own math) and it was perfect for my small swai fillet.. i used all black pepper since i never carry white.. i also took ROUVER's advice about using a bit of olive oil and omitting the butter.. i'm sure the buttery version is delicious, but i was looking for something lighter/healthier.. i can't wait to make this for bf.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe. A little on the spicy side. It did not smoke up the house as previous reviews stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Not bad, but I didn't want to smoke myself out of my house, and I didn't want to cook it outside since it's cold, so I did as another reviewer did and cooked in oil for a few minutes on high heat on each side, then finished by baking in the oven. I overbaked the fish a bit; it was sort of rubbery, so I'd bake it less next time. However, that was my fault and the seasoning was tasty. I did, however, leave out the cayenne and cut the pepper; I'm not a fan of food that is so spicy that all you can taste is the heat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Delicious, but cook it outside on your grill burner. It initially will give off large amounts of white smoke which will set off all your alarms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is a fantastic blackened fish recipe! DH raved about it several times throughout the meal. I did use my large cast iron skillet on the outdoor gas grill, and I'm glad I did. The spices burned my eyes while putting thr fillets in the pan and while turning, even outside. I used Barramundi fillets as they were the closest my store had to trout the day I cooked. Wonderful! (For you folks with kiddos that can't take the heat - sprinkle salt and dill in place of the seasoning mix then cook first. My picky 7 year old ate half a large fillet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good. I should have cooked it only 90 seconds on each side though. A little too black for me and maybe a touch too spicy. I used Tilapia instead of trout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
First time in my life to cook Red Snapper, let alone blacken it. My guys LOVED it! Even asked for me to make it again tonight. Son going off to college in a few days asked me to send a bottle of the spice mix so he can make it there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toolman1961
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
My wife thought this was my best dish ever. We've been talking about it for days. Substituted crushed red pepper because we didn't have cayenne pepper. I've never done much with fish before, but this was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States