Blackened Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
This was a great meal! I would not make this fish in the kitchen, but use an outside burner on the grill. It filled our house with smoke! She warns a well ventilated area to cook in, and you'd better belive it! It was very tasty though, and we will make it again. A bit too spicy for little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I altered the recipe quite a bit spice wise as it is really too much for children. I also used the grill outside to heat the cast iron skillet and cooked the fish there as well. Just sit the skillet directly on the grill on high heat. No problem with smoke in the house and it works beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Loved it!! Used Smart Balance Butter and it turned out great. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
WOO-HOOOO this has a great kick! I dipped the fish in the butter & then rolled it into the spice mixture, which depending on your "buds" I may or maynot recommend. I loved it, it was nice & spicy. Thanks Susan, I now have a great recipe to use up my Dads fresh catch with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Very easy to prepare. I didn't experience smoke problems at all. Excellent flavor and texture. The seasoning made the "fishiness" go away. (Used fresh trout...YUM!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
This was great. I do not like fish but my husband and I went on a fishing trip and had to cook our trout. I combined this recipe with another and grilled it in an aluminum foil pack with slices of poblano peppers, butter, and lemon juice. It was really excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
To lighten this recipe, remove ALL butter. Sprinkle herbs straight onto fish & heat a few tsp of olive oil in a cast iron skillet. I've found that farm-raised catfish filets are fairly thick, so I cut them in half and cook about 5 min per side. After heating the oil on high & adding the fish, I turn my burner down to med to finish cooking. They still are blackened enough for me, and this helps cut down on the amount of smoke produced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Excellent! Spicy and super easy to make. I didn't end up using as much butter as stated in the recipe. It did smoke up my kitchen/dining room, but it was worth it! I used fresh rainbow trout and an aluminum pan. My other half doesn't like fish but loved this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I used tilapia. Very good recipe, but not the best I've had. This was too salty,too hot, and there wasn't quite the "wow" flavor for us. Will keep searching/trying for a better mix. I used a STAINLESS STEEL pan not a cast iron; worked fine (be aware it will darken your pan permanently). My house filled with smoke and I DID use my exhaust fan;so I will only make this only when it is okay weather to open windows/doors or put a fan by a window OR cook outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
great recipe i used talapia did create a lot of smoke but was well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States