Blackened Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
this is the best way to eat fish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
We made fish tacos with this fantastic spicy fish, shredded cabbage, & Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce on corn tortillas. I used half the cayenne pepper and used garlic powder in place of the white pepper to test out this recipe, and it was still really spicy, so I'll stick with those adjustments next time. I'll cut the salt just a little as well since there is so much pepper dazzling your taste buds, less salt is necessary. I used halibut, and this recipe probably works well on many kinds of fish. I baked the fish in a little olive oil this time as I didn't want to smoke up the house, but I look forward to cooking it in olive oil in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Made this fish recipe for my family and my brothers family and everyone loved it even the little ones. My brother and sister in law had me print them a copy to send home. The only thing you really have to watch is not to put too much seasoning on the fish it will make it too spicey and you could lose the fish taste. I used Tilapia fish. HIGHLY Recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I tried this with tilapia and ghee (clarified butter) instead of butter (since I am allergic to casein) and it turned out great! My husband who is not a fish lover almost cleaned his plate. Very spicy and flavorful, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Wonderful fish recipe! Make sure your pan is screaming hot before putting the fish in so it doesn't stick. I mix up large batches of the seasoning to have on hand at all times. I serve the fish on top of greens with a bit of lime juice and olive oil. Super healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
pretty darned good. i thought there was too much butter also. next time will greatly reduce it. i did it outdoors on the grill with my cast iron griddle, instead of in my kitchen. i also used tilapia, since that is what most people here in this house like. thanks, it's a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
A bit too hot for me as is, but hubby loved it! Will tone down the pepper a bit next time, but this recipe is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I used catfish... also did a chunk of salmon... the catfish was good but the salmon was excellent!!! I did NOT fry it and I did NOT use butter... I blackened it in a really hot skillet with a little olive oil (took like 30 seconds each side) then put it on a cookie sheet and baked to finish! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Excellent recipe! Made with fresh catfish. My wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States