Blackened Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Not bad, but I didn't want to smoke myself out of my house, and I didn't want to cook it outside since it's cold, so I did as another reviewer did and cooked in oil for a few minutes on high heat on each side, then finished by baking in the oven. I overbaked the fish a bit; it was sort of rubbery, so I'd bake it less next time. However, that was my fault and the seasoning was tasty. I did, however, leave out the cayenne and cut the pepper; I'm not a fan of food that is so spicy that all you can taste is the heat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Delicious, but cook it outside on your grill burner. It initially will give off large amounts of white smoke which will set off all your alarms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is a fantastic blackened fish recipe! DH raved about it several times throughout the meal. I did use my large cast iron skillet on the outdoor gas grill, and I'm glad I did. The spices burned my eyes while putting thr fillets in the pan and while turning, even outside. I used Barramundi fillets as they were the closest my store had to trout the day I cooked. Wonderful! (For you folks with kiddos that can't take the heat - sprinkle salt and dill in place of the seasoning mix then cook first. My picky 7 year old ate half a large fillet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good. I should have cooked it only 90 seconds on each side though. A little too black for me and maybe a touch too spicy. I used Tilapia instead of trout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
First time in my life to cook Red Snapper, let alone blacken it. My guys LOVED it! Even asked for me to make it again tonight. Son going off to college in a few days asked me to send a bottle of the spice mix so he can make it there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toolman1961
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
My wife thought this was my best dish ever. We've been talking about it for days. Substituted crushed red pepper because we didn't have cayenne pepper. I've never done much with fish before, but this was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was delicious! Good flavor, not too spicy. Scaled it down for 2 people and used some rockfish that we got in out csf. Brushed on some butter, and poured the rest over the top - it was probably about 1-2 tbsp. Super easy and quick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I prefer my blackened fish more spicy. Ended up sprinkling more cayenne pepper on as we were eating it, which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Sweet baby Jesus: That was hot! I love hot, but that was over the top. I think the combo of white pepper and cayenne was a bit much! With that said, it was reasonably tasty. It was better on the shrimp than the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States