Blackened Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I use this all the time and when I make it, I change the serving size to 30 and fill an old spice jar so I have it on hand instead of making it everytime (it wont go bad). Not sure why the directions tell you to grill then put in the oven, save the time (and the cleaning of a pan) and keep it in the pan. Take the chicken out of the fridge 20-30 min before cooking (this brings the chicken closer to room temp, chicken will cook faster). Heat the pan on high for maybe 5 minutes (don't put anything in the pan until you are ready to use it). I then use spray butter directly on the chicken (to avoid extra smoke) and put it in the pan spray side down. Let it cook on medium high heat for 5-7 minutes (you will see the sides of the breast turn white). Spray the uncooked side with spray butter and flip it over. Cook another 5-7 minutes. Take it out of the pan and let it sit for atleast 10 minutes. in short... 3 tips for tender chicken, 1 - take out of the fridge for a few before you cook it. 2 - heat pan to help cook chicken faster, allowing it to sear and seal in juices. 3- let chicken sit 10 minutes after it is out of the pan for the juices to flow throughout the chicken. If you cut it too early only the first bite will be juicy the rest will be dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
This recipe was tasty, quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I made this exactly as the recipes is written and my very picky husband LOVED the chicken from my first attempt. He's asked me to make it every week for the past month. While he loved it from the start, I thought the flavor was a bit off, I have since perfected it to our tastes: I double all spices except halve the thyme. I also put all the spices in a plastic baggy, cut the chicken into strips, and shake them in the bag, then follow the recipe as written. I serve over pasta alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
301 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHERINEFLORENCE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Not exactly my "type" of blackened chicken, though, most will probably find it delicious. I used real onion (not powdered) and a bit of garlic as well. Was good, but just not what I was looking for. I prefer a spicier and crispier blackened chicken and this one was not spicy enough for my tastes and was a bit too moist (sheesh is that possible?). If you like 'em hot and cripsy, seek a different recipe, if you like 'em moist with a mild tang, you'll like this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
My husband's first word after eating this chicken was "yummy." I followed the recipe to a T, except that I only allowed the oil to heat up for about 5-7 minutes. It did create a lot of smoke, so turn on the fan ahead of time. I also had to cook it in the oven for more than 5-10 minutes - it was probably closer to 20-25. I don't know why people were saying that this chicken was bland - it was one of the most flavorful recipes I've tried in a long time. I suspect that it's important to use a cast iron skillet, as it sears the spices into the skin of the chicken. That might be the difference. It was actually quite spicy, and I love and can tolerate quite a bit of spice. I wouldn't change a thing, except that next time I might cook it in the cast iron skillet completely, as I wish it had a hard crust of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This chicken was the best. My family loved it. I cooked the chicken on the grill until done. (I didn't use the frying pan at all.) I also made up a little extra spice mixture and sprinkled it over the hot coals while the chicken was cooking. (Garlic added to the coals gives food a nice light smoked garlic flavor as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This is a good basic blackening rub, and putting the chicken in the oven kept it so moist and yummy. I've made it twice: 1st time I followed the ingredients exactly & my husband thought it was a little bland. 2nd time, I added 1/2 tsp. rubbed sage & 1/2 tsp garlic powder which definitely added some zip and more flavor. I also coated both sides the second time around. My husband and I dipped the chicken in Blue Cheese dressing which went great with the spices. This is now one of my husband's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
This tastes good and is QUICK! I tripled the amount of spice rub; put it on both sides of the chicken; pounded the chicken breasts so they wouldn't be so thick; and baked it for about 15 minutes which was just the right amount of time. Thanks for sharing this one with us, Karena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
This recipe is fabulous. My husband - who doesn't like blackened anything - loves it. My suggesion would be to use Olive oil instead of vegetable oil and bake the chicken for 20 minutes instead of 5. Other than that, this is the best blackened chicken I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Great recipe. I agree that it has to cook longer in the oven than 5-10 minutes. I also rubbed the spices on both sides and not just one. Great flavor! We used Pam canola spray (liberal) in the pan to brown the chicken and didn't have any smoke (and only had to warm it for 6-8 minutes). Also used chicken cutlets so they were a little thinner than regular chicken breasts. We will definately make again. Would be good with thick slice of melted cheese (sharpy cheddar) on top and served on a roll in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackened Chicken

See how to make a spicy, Cajun-style blackened chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States