Blackberry Wine Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My mother has made this since I was a kid---it is wonderful. I will not substitute any other gelatin though as I don't think it tastes the same at all. Royal is the only brand that carries Blackberry Gelatin. The brand is hard to find in stores but I order it online about once a year and always have the blackberry gelatin on hand for this cake. Just a tip. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used a chocolate fudge cake mix. Used about half the amount of powdered sugar and had enough glaze but the cake was just a little dry so maybe more glaze would have made it more moist. I used Arbor Mist blackberry which is a carbonated drink but that's the only blackberry flavor I found. Also used raspberry jell-o. I garnished with fresh blackberries and raspberries in the middle and around the edge. It was beautiful and delicious - just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is my husband's new favorite cake! I used strawberry jello since our grocery stores don't carry blackberry jello. The cake was gorgeous, moist, and delicious. After reading the reviews, I made only a half recipe of the glaze, and I am glad that I did that. This recipe is a keeper! I am going to go back for a second piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Some people complained it was too sweet but that's what cakes are for. I loved this and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Just made this cake today for a coworkers bday. It was a major hit! We actually really liked the icing despite some of the previous reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I have made this cake for years, except I have never made the glaze, I always frost with cream cheese icing. This is how my aunt always made this cake and it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
pretty good cake. loved it actually. just a little to "winey" tasting, but over all, a great use of some left over black berry wine i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I use CHOCOLATE cake mix...yum! A few other minor differences (e.g. more oil). My neighbors liked this cake so much, one of them nicknamed it "God's Donut".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This cake was really good. I'll be making this again since I don't know what to do with the rest of the Manichewitz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States