Blackberry Wine Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My mother has made this since I was a kid---it is wonderful. I will not substitute any other gelatin though as I don't think it tastes the same at all. Royal is the only brand that carries Blackberry Gelatin. The brand is hard to find in stores but I order it online about once a year and always have the blackberry gelatin on hand for this cake. Just a tip. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used a chocolate fudge cake mix. Used about half the amount of powdered sugar and had enough glaze but the cake was just a little dry so maybe more glaze would have made it more moist. I used Arbor Mist blackberry which is a carbonated drink but that's the only blackberry flavor I found. Also used raspberry jell-o. I garnished with fresh blackberries and raspberries in the middle and around the edge. It was beautiful and delicious - just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is my husband's new favorite cake! I used strawberry jello since our grocery stores don't carry blackberry jello. The cake was gorgeous, moist, and delicious. After reading the reviews, I made only a half recipe of the glaze, and I am glad that I did that. This recipe is a keeper! I am going to go back for a second piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Some people complained it was too sweet but that's what cakes are for. I loved this and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Just made this cake today for a coworkers bday. It was a major hit! We actually really liked the icing despite some of the previous reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I have made this cake for years, except I have never made the glaze, I always frost with cream cheese icing. This is how my aunt always made this cake and it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
pretty good cake. loved it actually. just a little to "winey" tasting, but over all, a great use of some left over black berry wine i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I use CHOCOLATE cake mix...yum! A few other minor differences (e.g. more oil). My neighbors liked this cake so much, one of them nicknamed it "God's Donut".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This cake was really good. I'll be making this again since I don't know what to do with the rest of the Manichewitz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States