Blackberry Wine Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My mother has made this since I was a kid---it is wonderful. I will not substitute any other gelatin though as I don't think it tastes the same at all. Royal is the only brand that carries Blackberry Gelatin. The brand is hard to find in stores but I order it online about once a year and always have the blackberry gelatin on hand for this cake. Just a tip. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and used a chocolate fudge cake mix. Used about half the amount of powdered sugar and had enough glaze but the cake was just a little dry so maybe more glaze would have made it more moist. I used Arbor Mist blackberry which is a carbonated drink but that's the only blackberry flavor I found. Also used raspberry jell-o. I garnished with fresh blackberries and raspberries in the middle and around the edge. It was beautiful and delicious - just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is my husband's new favorite cake! I used strawberry jello since our grocery stores don't carry blackberry jello. The cake was gorgeous, moist, and delicious. After reading the reviews, I made only a half recipe of the glaze, and I am glad that I did that. This recipe is a keeper! I am going to go back for a second piece right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Some people complained it was too sweet but that's what cakes are for. I loved this and can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Just made this cake today for a coworkers bday. It was a major hit! We actually really liked the icing despite some of the previous reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I have made this cake for years, except I have never made the glaze, I always frost with cream cheese icing. This is how my aunt always made this cake and it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
pretty good cake. loved it actually. just a little to "winey" tasting, but over all, a great use of some left over black berry wine i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I use CHOCOLATE cake mix...yum! A few other minor differences (e.g. more oil). My neighbors liked this cake so much, one of them nicknamed it "God's Donut".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This cake was really good. I'll be making this again since I don't know what to do with the rest of the Manichewitz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States