Blackberry Wine Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This cake is delicious! Moist with lots of flavor! I used a homemade blackberry wine and I didn't have any problems finding blackberry jello. I found the Jell-O brand blackberry at meijer this morning. It's the blackberry fusion gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Blackberry Jello is unavailable, but Blackberry Fusion Jello is available and tastes amazing. Second, you need to melt the butter for the glaze, it really doesn't work otherwise, and melting it doesn't hurt anything in the recipe. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is a great cake! I have also tried raspberry wine and raspberry Jello-O and it is wonderful. Just a few tweaks to the glaze...I use 1 1/4 c powdered sugar and add 1/4c water. I poke holes with my long tined fork immediately after taking the cake out of the oven. After cooling for 10 minutes, I take the cake out of the pan, pour 1/2 of the glaze in the bottom of the pan, return the cake to the pan and pour the remaining glaze over the bottom of the cake. Then I cover it with plastic wrap and let it sit overnight in the pan. Turn out the next morning onto your cake plate. It is so nice and moist! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I left out the nuts. The cake is nice and moist and has a lovely pink color to it. Perfect for a tea party, bridal shower or book club event. Instead of pouring the second half of the icing over the cake, I brushed it on with a pastry brush every 15 minutes until it was all gone. This resulted in beautifully laquered look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Jell-o Brand has started making a Blackberry flavor again! It's called Blackberry Fusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Freeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I have made this 2 times and it just keeps getting better and better! Moist, gets better the longer it sits! Made for my cousin's birthday and she couldn't stop talking about it!! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Beard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompsons Station, Tennessee, USA
Living In: College Grove, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I halved the butter for the glaze. I found red raspberry/blackberry Jello brand gelatin, so I used that. I made this cake for my family Thanksgiving gathering. Everyone said it was good, but maybe could have used more glaze because it wasn't evenly moist, and the moister parts were better. I personally think it had a funny aftertaste, but I would like to experiment with the recipe. Maybe next time I'll try orange gelatin and orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
For those having trouble with the glaze, I recommend leaving out the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
made with black cherry jello I had on hand and the black cherry wine that my dear husband brought me when I asked him to bring home a bottle of sherry for my fresh green bean casserole recipe! lol! Well, turned into a pretty yummy mistake. followed other reviewers tips on a successful glaze and everyone liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
The cake came out great. Before I made this I asked several people and they suggested going for the alternative glaze recipe as shown on this website "Blackberry Wine Cake II". Those two combinations makes a good Blackberry Wine Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States