Blackberry Wine Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I absolutely love this recipe! It's easy and consistently makes a great cake! Everyone is super fascinated that it has wine in it and it's a conversation piece. I have swapped out different flavors of wine sometime I use the Maninschewitz Cherry or Elderberry Flavors. For the first time I used a strawberry cake mix because I could not find white mix. I know some folks are worried about no longer being able to find blackberry Jello. I use any kind of dark berry family flavor...i.e. black cherry, raspberry, black raspberry, berry fusion and others. This last time I made the cake and ran out of the blackberry wine, I had enough for the batter for the cake but not the glaze. I happened to have some Moscato wine & some Raspberry schnapps (razzmatazz). I blended the two together maybe a fourth cup of each to make the half cup I needed for the glaze. It was awesome...my husband actually like this doctored version even better. My other tip is once you remove the cake from the pan, I make the glaze(I actually melt the butter) and put it into the still warm pan. I then place the cake back in the pan, upside down and let it sit and soak up the glaze like a sponge. Check in about 45 mins, and then I refrigerate the cake, keeping it cool helps with the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This cake is delicious! Moist with lots of flavor! I used a homemade blackberry wine and I didn't have any problems finding blackberry jello. I found the Jell-O brand blackberry at meijer this morning. It's the blackberry fusion gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Blackberry Jello is unavailable, but Blackberry Fusion Jello is available and tastes amazing. Second, you need to melt the butter for the glaze, it really doesn't work otherwise, and melting it doesn't hurt anything in the recipe. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is a great cake! I have also tried raspberry wine and raspberry Jello-O and it is wonderful. Just a few tweaks to the glaze...I use 1 1/4 c powdered sugar and add 1/4c water. I poke holes with my long tined fork immediately after taking the cake out of the oven. After cooling for 10 minutes, I take the cake out of the pan, pour 1/2 of the glaze in the bottom of the pan, return the cake to the pan and pour the remaining glaze over the bottom of the cake. Then I cover it with plastic wrap and let it sit overnight in the pan. Turn out the next morning onto your cake plate. It is so nice and moist! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I left out the nuts. The cake is nice and moist and has a lovely pink color to it. Perfect for a tea party, bridal shower or book club event. Instead of pouring the second half of the icing over the cake, I brushed it on with a pastry brush every 15 minutes until it was all gone. This resulted in beautifully laquered look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Jell-o Brand has started making a Blackberry flavor again! It's called Blackberry Fusion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Freeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I have made this 2 times and it just keeps getting better and better! Moist, gets better the longer it sits! Made for my cousin's birthday and she couldn't stop talking about it!! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Beard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompsons Station, Tennessee, USA
Living In: College Grove, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I halved the butter for the glaze. I found red raspberry/blackberry Jello brand gelatin, so I used that. I made this cake for my family Thanksgiving gathering. Everyone said it was good, but maybe could have used more glaze because it wasn't evenly moist, and the moister parts were better. I personally think it had a funny aftertaste, but I would like to experiment with the recipe. Maybe next time I'll try orange gelatin and orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
For those having trouble with the glaze, I recommend leaving out the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
made with black cherry jello I had on hand and the black cherry wine that my dear husband brought me when I asked him to bring home a bottle of sherry for my fresh green bean casserole recipe! lol! Well, turned into a pretty yummy mistake. followed other reviewers tips on a successful glaze and everyone liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States