Blackberry Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Love this syrup made from wild blackberries but when they're out of season store bought, fresh of frozen, is good too. Great recipe that can be adjusted to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Just made this with some berries I had in the freezer that were too tart for a cobbler; skipped the pectin. I used it in a gin martini with a lemon twist. Awesome! I plan to use it as a substitute for Grenadine, too. It tastes better and I'll avoid the high fructose corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is the best blackberry syrup I made 75 cans a few years ago and the people at my church,friends,family, all loved it ! It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is delicious! Really only cook it for the 2 minutes. I didn't add pectin and it was pretty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Been using this recipe minus the pectin for years. If you mix 4 cups blackberry juice with 2 cups of sugar & boil 10 minutes,add 2 more cups of sugar,& boil 10 more minutes, you will have jelly. Never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ganny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I used this recipe for a guide, but didn't want to make that much, so I changed it. First, I used my Jack LaLainne juicer using about 25 blackberries, then 2 red plums to help the juice of the berries come out. I scraped the well and added a little pulp, making about 1 cup of juice. I cooked it in a small saucepan with 1/2 cup of sugar, juice from 1/4 medium lemon, and 1/2 tsp. butter. I cooked it on pretty high flame, stirring frequently, for about 5 mins. It came out perfect, just the right thickness to use on my homemade waffles. And there's left over to use again tomorrow, or even on vanilla ice cream tonight! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used a recipe very similar to this. Taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
delicious...but why wouldn't it be its juice and sugar. pretty good but i added twice as much pectin and about two tablespoons of corn syrup to thicken it because without it, it was the consistency of the juice itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious! I added 2 tsp. of sure jell and cooked mine longer than 2 minutes (because of an interruption) so it turned out a bit thicker than I wanted. It really is much more like jam now, but we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I used 2-1/4c. Of sugar and it turned out amazing! Also, fresh berries, strained the seeds out. Used a tiny bit of gelatin to thicken, about 1/8 to 1/4t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States