Blackberry Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I had some leftover blackberries to use up, so I decided to make this recipe. I didn’t have spinach so I used green leaf lettuce. I eyeballed the ingredients rather than measuring and increased the onions, using two green onions for two salads. I toasted my walnuts in a skillet with a little butter to enhance their flavor and I didn't use the optional edible flowers. For the dressing I used Honey Balsamic Vinaigrette also from this site. This salad was quite good and I would make it again. I’m not sure the tomatoes worked that well in this, although they did contribute additional color. Next time I will use strawberries instead. Other than that I wouldn’t change a thing! Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Great salad. I added romaine lettuce and fresh beets. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
All the flavors worked very well together in this! I really wanted to use the edible flowers but my store didn't have them. OBVIOUSLY this recipe is JUST a salad recipe so you will need to come up with a dressing. I just used some oil and red wine vinegar. Balsamic and oil would be good too! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Great salad--I doubled it for a crowd and made a balsamic vinaigrette--great crowd pleaser and awesome presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious! No dressing was mentioned, but I did my standard.....a bit of garlic salt, a bit of olive oil and a dash of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Very fresh tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
So easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
There was too much cheese for me, it made it too salty. I would cut it down next time. Also it needed some sort of dressing. I just added a bit of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I used some of my blackberries from my bush. The salad was pretty good especially paired with the sweet cherry tomatoes. I didn't especially like it without a dressing though. It wasn't bad, but it does need something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I catered a friend's bridal shower and make this salad. I used a combination of baby spinach and romaine lettuce. I used pecans instead of walnuts, but that was a personal preference. And I did not use the edible flowers. I mixed everything together with an Italian vinagrette, and it was very good and very popular at the shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States