Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I am somewhat of a fussy pie baker and I loved this recipe! The only things I did differently were that I used 5 pints of large berries, I also brushed the bottom crust with a little beaten egg, squeezed a little lemon juice over the berries and dotted with butter before putting the top crust on. I brushed the top crust with some of the beaten egg and sprinkled sugar over it. It was delicious and I agree, serve this with a little vanilla ice-cream. I've made this pie about 5 times this summer and received rave reviews each time. One more tip ~ make sure that you combine the berries with the sugar and flour well until you no longer see any "white" coating on the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I've made this recipe a total of three times in the past month (can you tell I liked it?). Each time I tried a slightly different variation. The recipe as stated tastes great. However, I recommend brushing part of an egg on the bottom of the pie shell before adding the berries so that the bottom will not become soggy. Instead of using all-purpose flour, I tried tapioca flour once. It turned out a thicker and bit sweeter berry filling than the straight flour. I liked it. Another thing I did was to add a tablespoon or two of cold butter chopped up and sprinkled over the berries. If you like a buttery flavor, this is definitely the way to go. All three times I used a butter pie crust. If you have the option between frozen and fresh blackberries, I highly recommend the fresh. I tried both. The fresh were much tastier. When it came down to it... each variation tasted great and I highly recommend this recipe. It is resilient to modifications and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
617 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Very good. I added more berries, and it still fit well into the pie dish. Next time I would squeeze a tablespoon or so of lemon juice on top for a needed brightness. I used 1/4 cup tapioca in lieu of the flour. I did brush some beaten egg onto the bottom crust to keep it from becoming soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
505 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Perfect pie!!! We just had this after dinner tonight. We picked the blackberries from the fence line running down the driveway. I followed the recipe exactly (but I used store bought frozen pie crusts) and it was absolutely delicious. First fruit pie I ever made and it was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe that made me feel good about myself! It's so cool to use ingredients from your yard to feed your family! The crust was perfect thanks to the great temp/time directions! Will use this every season!...Vanilla ice cream is the topper (literally)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This is delicious! I used a bag of frozen blackberries and increased the bake time to 30 minutes. I would recommend only brushing the pie with one tablespoon of milk before sprinkling the sugar, as two made the top a little watery-still delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Wonderful pie. My sister-in-law, THE pie maker in the family, raved and asked me for the recipe. I used the Pie Crust recipe submitted by Brenda for the crust. To keep the cost down, I used half fresh berries and half frozen. The pie sliced beautifully and didn't ooze one bit. I recommend serving it warm with a scoop of ice cream, as Michelle states. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
This recipe was soooo easy! I'm 11 and I made it all by myself. My family thought was so good. Thanks! Lianna ( good with boysenberry and Maryenberrys too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This pie was good - I used frozen blackberries and that could be why it was not as good as I excpected. My pie was too stiff - so next time I will use less flour or substitute tapioca. Also I will add more sugar next time - maybe 3/4 cup instead of just 1/2. I may also take one of the other reviewer's advice and add a little lemon juice. Overall a good basic recipe you can work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
So Yummy!! I have never made a pie before and this was so good. It held it's shape and wasn't runny. One thing I did wrong was didn't let it cool quite enough before cutting which made it run on the initial cut. But after it cooled, it was perfect. Tastes awesome with Vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
After making this pie for the first time last week, my friends have been calling me and asking if I've made another (which I did :)). I have a deep pie dish, so I added 2 cups of blueberries for a "black-n-blueberry pie." It doesn't seem too 'oozie', and it's really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States