Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I don't like a a lot of crust with my pies. So I made this pie and didn't put a top crust on it. The pie wasn't runny and stuck together quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I like this pie. It's the first pie I've ever made. I did like others suggested -- beaten egg white brushed on bottom and top crust, and lemon juice -- I forgot the butter. Which I bet the salt would've added a nice flavor. I added 1/2 of a juiced lemon. And I did not put 1/4 of a cup of sugar on top...yikes. I put 1 tsp but I shouldve used 2 tsp. I also first mixed the sugar and flour thoroughly before mixing with the berries. When I mixed the berries in it there was still a lot of the sugar/flour mix left over. I just tried to evenly distribute it. The pie is very congealed (stiff/jellied) but I like that. Also, I enjoyed the tartness but you may want to add more sugar to the berries. Overall I love it. I will try the butter and more sugar next time in the pie and on top (since 1 tsp didn't cover the pie). My husband didn't like how tart it was. Also, I used 1/3 of each berry: blackberrys, blueberrys, and raspberrys. I found it fit very well into my 9inch pan. I'm about to go back for my 3rd slice....I will be working the calories off from this pie for the next week....hahah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I dont know what went wrong. My berries may have been a little tart. I did follow others suggestions to brush a little beaten egg on bottom crust to keep from getting soggy, mixed the berries with the sugar and flour till completely mixed, dotted with butter, brushed little egg on top and sprinkled with sugar. The filling was thick like paste. My husband tried to eat a piece he said it had a metallic taste, I used a glass pan. A shame cause it looked beautiful. Oh and I used store bought pillsbury premade rolled dough, so I know That wasnt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I'm not a fruit pie fan myself, and neither is my husband, so I never had cause to make one even though I bake all the time. But my husband has a coworker who loves blackberry pie, but hadn't had it since he was about 10 years old (he's in his fifties now!) So I made a blackberry pie and brought it in when they were on lunch break, and he said it was just like his mother used to make. All they guys there who tried it were going crazy over it, and it was the first pie I'd ever made! I used the "Pastry for Double Pie-Crust" recipe as submitted to this web site by Taste of Home Test Kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Nice tasting pie. Paired this with "Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust" from this site and wow'ed friends at game night. Follower the recipe pretty close. I just sugared all the berries in one bowl with the flour and used an egg wash instead of the milk. I also only used about a tablespoon of sugar on top. One other thing I did, was to add a little lemon juice to the frozen berries to brighten up the flavor a bit. Nice to cut a piece of berry pie and not have all the filling run out into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
An awesome recipe! My husband and I loved this pie. We brushed the bottom crust with eggs as others suggested and added butter on top of the berrries and skipped the milk all together. I think next time I'll had a smidge more sugar, but other wise really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is a foolproof way to bake blackberry pie. I have used this recipe several times, and it always comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe but I ended up having to back this much longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeaneDrake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeview, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Londonderry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
The pie tastes great! It was my first time making pie ever and it turned out amazing! Only thing I didn't like was that you're supposed to add to much milk to the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Very delicious yet simple recipe for blackberry pie. The blackberry seeds were a little crunchy; not sure what can be done about this unless the blackberries, flour, and sugar are cooked a little beforehand on the stove to soften them up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States