Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Natalie Marcotte
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Best blackberry pie ever! I made this for my mother in laws birthday and there was also a home made banana cream pie, but it was obvious which pie was favored. I used the butter flakey pie crust recipe from this site, its def the best crust ever. I refuse to make a crust with shortening. anyway, the sugar on top of the crust really makes it amazing! I didnt use the whole quarter cup though. Seemed a little excessive. Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Marcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L-C
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! We cut down the sugar a little bit and it still tasted great! We followed others suggestions re egg on bottom and no problem w/runniness. On top, we used egg and no sugar. We used frozen pie crust on bottom and Brenda's pie crust recipe on top. We loved it. Topping is definitely whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Great pie, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Outstanding! Made as directed, however took into consideration the suggestions from several cooks; added some lemon juice, made sure all fruit was thoroughly coated, and topped with butter before adding top crust. Also brushed bottom crust with egg before adding filling. Husband raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Smail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Great recipe and soooo simple. If the berries are sweet you can leave out the sugar completely. I am trying with a few pads of butter to see if adds anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOGVET

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Used frozen blackberries. It was OK but not sweet enough for me. Too much excess flour but perhaps that was due to the frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I loved it. Very easy and very simple to make. Maybe I added a bit more flour? Second time I used rhubarb and strawberries and it also turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Solid. Helps if you egg the bottom and butter the top. But the filling is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe!! I didn't use the pie crust recipe, but the was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Pond

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Great recipe! We used fresh picked blackberries and it turned out wonderful. I would recommend a few modifications (suggested by another user named Carmen): brush the bottom crust with egg to prevent it from getting soggy, add a little lemon juice to the blackberries, and use less milk and sugar on the top crust. Overall, this was a great recipe and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Gore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States