Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
My first double crust pie and it was perfect! This easy recipe turned out a beautiful pie and made me look like a pro! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My husband made this with blackberries he picked from the neighborhood. The quarter cup of sugar on top of the pie seemed a bit much. Overall, a great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I modified this quite a bit but it as a hit. We had a patch producing berries so we would collect some and freeze them with a touch of honey - enough to coat. Before making this, we used half frozen and half thawed fresh. Because of the honey, used half the sugar and 1/2 cup flower and a couple tablespoons of corn starch because of the frozen berries were extra wet. Also threw in a handful of fresh blueberries from the garden. I prebaked the crust with eggs not milk, and in a last minute twist we only had 1 pie shell so we topped with a crumble made of 3/4 cup flour 3/4 cup oats 3/4 cup brown sugar 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon 7 tbsp slightly softened butter Baked the whole time at 400 instead of up and down since the top didn't need browning (crumble). I was nervous about making a "crumble+pie" but ut was just enough sweet and just enough savory. The pie lasted about 5 minutes served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Def recommend this variation if you are not a "baker" type and love to go off recipe. No fail :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heavenlyflower78
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My family is a fan of this easy and yummy pie. We also used "the best pie crust" also from all recipes as well! We decided to change it up and make mini pies for our dinner guest and it could'nt of turned out better! With a few modifications as everyone had suggested...sprinkle of lemon juice, egg wash on inside of pie crust before filling in and just a sprinkle of sugar on top of crust...we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
The only different in how I make it is I use butter on the top crust with sugar sprinkled over. Very good basic pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This recipe was easy to follow and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelinaK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I am so excited..I went to pick blackberries today and wanted to try to make a pie. Previous attempts were watery and had been years since I tried again. This recipe is so much like my moms and only thing I forgot to do was keep some berries for the top..but all in all it is fantastic..great recipe..thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
i did it same but with cherry's mixed with the black berry's. soooooooooooooooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING!I followed exactly what the recipe said, and it turned out perfect, like a Marie Calander pie. I used egg wipe on the bottom (just wipe some whisked egg with a paper towel over the shell), and there was absolutely no soggy shells. This recipe is the most easy, yet versatile pie ever, very healthy, yet still sweet and tangy. This is perfect for our ripe and wild blackberries in our yard. Thanks- LucyJeane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyJeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopetaia
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I made this pie recipe with a mix of blackberries and strawberries. I used the crust recipe from joyofbaking.com and did not brush the bottom with beaten egg. The crust was still crisp after setting overnight. I also took the advice of a few reviewers and squeezed lemon juice over the fruit and added a little butter as well. The pie was delicious! I was worried that it would be too juicy when I initially took it out of the oven but when I sliced into it, everything stayed together. First time I've made a pie and I would have to say it was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States