Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This pie tasted really good, however, I wish the recipe said something in it about blending in the sugar and flour until you can't see it, or perhaps smashing a few of the berries to absorb some of the flour/sugar. My pie came out with a few spots of flour showing. It tasted delicious though, so it wasn't a huge problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very good - I will use this again. I rated it 4 stars because it definitely needed an extra 15 minutes than the recipe stated. I'll also cut down on the flour by just a bit and add a tad more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy recipe. I added lemon juice and lemon zest for an extra kick. My lattice top didn't do well with the milk wash and it bubbled up over the crust too much. But still tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This pie is very simple, but I am not all that impressed. I think that the ratios could be adjusted, there seems to be too much flour. I live high in the mountains so I cooked the pie for almost 35 minutes at 375, but I still ended up with lumps of uncooked, gooey flour lumps in the middle of the pie. I read the previous reviews and increased the blackberries 1/2 again, and all other ingredients as well. Also, I added a scant tablespoon of lemon juice. This addition was perfect for a 9" pie and filled it well. If I had only used the 4 cups it would have been too small. Next time I will use less flour and cook longer - maybe at 350 for 40 minutes. Or I will just try a cornstarch recipe. Oh well, it doesn't taste too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This pie was AMAZING. I've been looking for a good black and blue berry pie, but couldn't find one. So, I followed all of the directions except I used equal parts frozen blueberries and blackberries. This pie turned out perfect!!! Everyone loved it, even people who claim that they do not like black/blue berries. HIGHLY recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tambradee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Sweet and simple, and it accentuated the fresh blackberries. My family (big blackberry fans) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abelles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious! It turned out so beautiful and tasted amazing! I tried to cook this pie at 350 with another pie, but realized it wasn't getting hot enough to thicken the juices. I recommend cooking at 375...just like the recipe says!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Not enough fruit for my 9-inch deep dish pie plate. It baked down to one berry deep, even though I added an extra 3/4 cup of fruit. Worse, though the berries looked and tasted amazing before I put them in the pie, there was no juice. That meant the finished pie was a layer of berries with no set juice to bind them. The finished pie had lumps of flour between the berries. I've made wonderful pies for almost 50 years, but this was a total disaster. It should have had cornstarch instead of so much flour, plus some lemon juice, maybe more sweetener (sugar, Splenda or honey), and some butter. The only thing good about my result was my usual beautiful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I have run two bakeries and while the recipe is pretty simplistic (needs a bit more sugar) and good, the baking time is way off. I knew reading it, I would have to adjust it by at least 20 to 30 minutes longer to have the filling come to a boil and thicken. Anything less and you're going to be serving warm blackberry soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyunker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toluca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This one is a keeper. Brought one of the pies in to work, and the guys on the team said it was the best blackberry pie they'd ever eaten. The filling was nicely firm and sliced easily. I did reduce the amount of sugar on the top to about 1-2 T. This pie was delicious and surprisingly simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States