Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This recipe was great. I used frozen berries that I froze from my garden and thawed. I used the sugar and flour the recipe called for. Per other reviewers suggestions, I brushed beaten egg on the bottom crust. I also brushed the top crust with beaten egg prior to sprinkling it with sugar. I did not use the full 1/4 cup of sugar on top. This recipe is easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I don't usually like pie all that much (definitely a cake person). But it was Pi day and so I made this recipe for my fiance. I took people's recommendations about adding a 1/4 cup more sugar, eliminating the milk, dotting with butter, and brushing egg on the bottom and top layers of crust. Absolutely great advice. The pie turned out to be fantastic! The pie actually tasted even better the next day after it had plenty of time to cool and the flavors melded. I guess I have to start saying I love pie too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This pie is very good! I used frozen berries and added a TBS of chopped cold butter before putting on the top crust and the filling was not runny at all. After brushing some milk on the crust I only sprinkled about 1 1/2 tsp. of sugar on top. I cut the recipe in half and prepared it in a small 4 serving glass pie plate and it was just right for dessert for a couple of night for hubby and I. I also prepared Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is a wonderful easy recipe! I made my pie with frozen blackberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The pie was great! I followed the directions almost exactly, and the pie held up very well. As per the recommendations of other raters, I brushed the bottom and top crust with egg before placing the pie in the oven. Overall, pie was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
My mother loved it! I thawed out frozen berries. Bake time was 15 extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it got RAVE reviews. I used 6 cups of berries and baked at 375 for the entire time. Also, in the video it suggests using an egg wash on the bottom crust so that it does not become soggy. I highly recommend as I didn't do that the first time I made it. Made it for the second time two days after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Excellent, but definitely needs to be cooked longer to thicken up. Cover with tinfoil to prevent burning crust and cook another 35mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan O.
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
We have blackberry bushes so I make this pie every year. The recipe 'ingredients' (what goes into the pie) are perfect; right amount of sweetness and consistency is spot on. The only reason I couldn't give it 5 stars was 1) I have to brush the bottom of the pie crust with egg white to keep it from getting soggy and 2) the amount of sugar used on top was too much for us. I usually just sprinkle and 'eyeball' it, I'd say no more than 1 1/2T. BUT this pie (with the slight mods) gets rave reviews and is a summer favorite for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoot31b

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States