Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very easy to make! I actually just used store bought premade crusts from the frozen food aisle, and it still tasted wonderful! Make sure to top with vanilla ice cream! But a great way to use up those berries you find in the summer! My husband was very impressed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BamBam
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Very good recipe. Easy to make. I used fresh picked Blackberries. Next time I will cook the berries down in Corn Syrup or Karo Syrup first.. it would have made a sweeter pie. 4 stars from me, thnx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamBam
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Awesome recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this today, & while it wasn't exactly how I usually make blackberry pie, it came out beautifully. I added about another half cup of sugar. I know blackberries take a lot of sugar. Think it could have stood more. I posted 2 pictures also. Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Changes I made: I substituted a little cornstarch for the flour. Changes I would probably make in the future: add a little more sugar. The flavor was awesome. A smidgen tart but not really. My kids thought it would be better with a touch more sugar though. I used fresh picked berries and drained very well so no problems with a soupy pie. I also used egg white on the bottom crust. Overall a good recipe to use again. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Easy as Pie. lol. This was the right proportions and the milk and sugar on top of the crust made a delicious golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This was a very good recipe. It was the first time my daughter and I made a pie together and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I don't like a a lot of crust with my pies. So I made this pie and didn't put a top crust on it. The pie wasn't runny and stuck together quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I like this pie. It's the first pie I've ever made. I did like others suggested -- beaten egg white brushed on bottom and top crust, and lemon juice -- I forgot the butter. Which I bet the salt would've added a nice flavor. I added 1/2 of a juiced lemon. And I did not put 1/4 of a cup of sugar on top...yikes. I put 1 tsp but I shouldve used 2 tsp. I also first mixed the sugar and flour thoroughly before mixing with the berries. When I mixed the berries in it there was still a lot of the sugar/flour mix left over. I just tried to evenly distribute it. The pie is very congealed (stiff/jellied) but I like that. Also, I enjoyed the tartness but you may want to add more sugar to the berries. Overall I love it. I will try the butter and more sugar next time in the pie and on top (since 1 tsp didn't cover the pie). My husband didn't like how tart it was. Also, I used 1/3 of each berry: blackberrys, blueberrys, and raspberrys. I found it fit very well into my 9inch pan. I'm about to go back for my 3rd slice....I will be working the calories off from this pie for the next week....hahah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I dont know what went wrong. My berries may have been a little tart. I did follow others suggestions to brush a little beaten egg on bottom crust to keep from getting soggy, mixed the berries with the sugar and flour till completely mixed, dotted with butter, brushed little egg on top and sprinkled with sugar. The filling was thick like paste. My husband tried to eat a piece he said it had a metallic taste, I used a glass pan. A shame cause it looked beautiful. Oh and I used store bought pillsbury premade rolled dough, so I know That wasnt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States