Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I loved it. Very easy and very simple to make. Maybe I added a bit more flour? Second time I used rhubarb and strawberries and it also turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Solid. Helps if you egg the bottom and butter the top. But the filling is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe!! I didn't use the pie crust recipe, but the was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Pond

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Great recipe! We used fresh picked blackberries and it turned out wonderful. I would recommend a few modifications (suggested by another user named Carmen): brush the bottom crust with egg to prevent it from getting soggy, add a little lemon juice to the blackberries, and use less milk and sugar on the top crust. Overall, this was a great recipe and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Gore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was a fantastic easy and crowd pleasing recipe! There are two things though. Eggs on top work better than milk, and prep only takes 5-10 minutes, not even close to 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by R.bess
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is the best Berry Pie recipe I have ever made and the family loves it. I make it with 41/2 cups of Blackberries. I don't change a thing except bake it a little longer because we live in the Mountains. Serve it with vanilla ice cream and wow. It won't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Loved this pie! It was a bit on the tart side, but that's how I like it. If you like sweeter pie, up the sugar a bit. I used store bought berries, but if you're fortunate enough to have fresh, the recommended half cup sugar will probably be enough. I've baked this pie twice; once with flour, once with tapioca starch. The tapioca starch seems to be better. The flour version gives the filling a more gravy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Fantastic - used 3 pints of blackberries and also brushed egg on the bottom pie crust before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Rusert
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Made it the first time and my boys loved it!!! I am for sure making it again. I added a bit of vanilla extract, and I would add more berries next time... Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This recipe was great. I used frozen berries that I froze from my garden and thawed. I used the sugar and flour the recipe called for. Per other reviewers suggestions, I brushed beaten egg on the bottom crust. I also brushed the top crust with beaten egg prior to sprinkling it with sugar. I did not use the full 1/4 cup of sugar on top. This recipe is easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States