Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by L-C
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! We cut down the sugar a little bit and it still tasted great! We followed others suggestions re egg on bottom and no problem w/runniness. On top, we used egg and no sugar. We used frozen pie crust on bottom and Brenda's pie crust recipe on top. We loved it. Topping is definitely whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Great pie, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Outstanding! Made as directed, however took into consideration the suggestions from several cooks; added some lemon juice, made sure all fruit was thoroughly coated, and topped with butter before adding top crust. Also brushed bottom crust with egg before adding filling. Husband raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Great recipe and soooo simple. If the berries are sweet you can leave out the sugar completely. I am trying with a few pads of butter to see if adds anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOGVET

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Used frozen blackberries. It was OK but not sweet enough for me. Too much excess flour but perhaps that was due to the frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I loved it. Very easy and very simple to make. Maybe I added a bit more flour? Second time I used rhubarb and strawberries and it also turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamila

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Solid. Helps if you egg the bottom and butter the top. But the filling is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe!! I didn't use the pie crust recipe, but the was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Pond

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Great recipe! We used fresh picked blackberries and it turned out wonderful. I would recommend a few modifications (suggested by another user named Carmen): brush the bottom crust with egg to prevent it from getting soggy, add a little lemon juice to the blackberries, and use less milk and sugar on the top crust. Overall, this was a great recipe and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Gore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was a fantastic easy and crowd pleasing recipe! There are two things though. Eggs on top work better than milk, and prep only takes 5-10 minutes, not even close to 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States