Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
the filling was a bit too floury for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I love this recipe! I have made it many times and it is always a hit! I also use two bags of frozen blackberries. I ran warm water over them to defrost them. When I used fresh berries it bubbled over with to much juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Better than any cobbler I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda879

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
My family loved this pie, I used fresh blackberries and followed the pastry recipe off tenderflake lard. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I liked the recipe,my boyfriend requested it,but I would suggest adding a little more berries or cut down on the dry ingredients because I thought the filling came out to firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
My first double crust pie and it was perfect! This easy recipe turned out a beautiful pie and made me look like a pro! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My husband made this with blackberries he picked from the neighborhood. The quarter cup of sugar on top of the pie seemed a bit much. Overall, a great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I modified this quite a bit but it as a hit. We had a patch producing berries so we would collect some and freeze them with a touch of honey - enough to coat. Before making this, we used half frozen and half thawed fresh. Because of the honey, used half the sugar and 1/2 cup flower and a couple tablespoons of corn starch because of the frozen berries were extra wet. Also threw in a handful of fresh blueberries from the garden. I prebaked the crust with eggs not milk, and in a last minute twist we only had 1 pie shell so we topped with a crumble made of 3/4 cup flour 3/4 cup oats 3/4 cup brown sugar 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon 7 tbsp slightly softened butter Baked the whole time at 400 instead of up and down since the top didn't need browning (crumble). I was nervous about making a "crumble+pie" but ut was just enough sweet and just enough savory. The pie lasted about 5 minutes served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Def recommend this variation if you are not a "baker" type and love to go off recipe. No fail :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heavenlyflower78
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My family is a fan of this easy and yummy pie. We also used "the best pie crust" also from all recipes as well! We decided to change it up and make mini pies for our dinner guest and it could'nt of turned out better! With a few modifications as everyone had suggested...sprinkle of lemon juice, egg wash on inside of pie crust before filling in and just a sprinkle of sugar on top of crust...we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
The only different in how I make it is I use butter on the top crust with sugar sprinkled over. Very good basic pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States