Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Not enough fruit for my 9-inch deep dish pie plate. It baked down to one berry deep, even though I added an extra 3/4 cup of fruit. Worse, though the berries looked and tasted amazing before I put them in the pie, there was no juice. That meant the finished pie was a layer of berries with no set juice to bind them. The finished pie had lumps of flour between the berries. I've made wonderful pies for almost 50 years, but this was a total disaster. It should have had cornstarch instead of so much flour, plus some lemon juice, maybe more sweetener (sugar, Splenda or honey), and some butter. The only thing good about my result was my usual beautiful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I have run two bakeries and while the recipe is pretty simplistic (needs a bit more sugar) and good, the baking time is way off. I knew reading it, I would have to adjust it by at least 20 to 30 minutes longer to have the filling come to a boil and thicken. Anything less and you're going to be serving warm blackberry soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyunker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toluca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This one is a keeper. Brought one of the pies in to work, and the guys on the team said it was the best blackberry pie they'd ever eaten. The filling was nicely firm and sliced easily. I did reduce the amount of sugar on the top to about 1-2 T. This pie was delicious and surprisingly simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was incredibly easy to make, I had never made Pie before today, and I even made my pastry by scratch! Sooo good! I didn't brush with milk or sprinkle with 1/4 c of sugar, I forgot. But still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made it with Bob's black raspberries. Best berry pie I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
OMG! I made this for my neighbor's birthday. It was unbelievably delicious. Not only that it only took 4 cups of blackberries. Everyone that was lucky enough to get a piece of this pie raved about it. Thanks! This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I used wild blackberries from our land, I never made a pie before. My husband says it was the best pie he ever ate and he is a tough customer. I made 5 pies!! It held together like I was a pro and it tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This recipe worked beautifully! And it tasted great. I added just a tiny bit of lemon just to kinda perk things up and balance the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
the filling was a bit too floury for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I love this recipe! I have made it many times and it is always a hit! I also use two bags of frozen blackberries. I ran warm water over them to defrost them. When I used fresh berries it bubbled over with to much juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States