Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Worked perfectly. I've tried it with cinnamon and different mixing methods (gently mixing berries with the sugar and flour, or mashing it into more of a liquid). The cinnamon is a good addition, but I'd recommend gently mixing the berries and to avoid mashing them up as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Dignam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Great Recipe. I added butter and lemon juice on top of the berries. I also brushed the crust with a little bit of beaten egg. Again great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Tried this with some blackberries we picked from our backyard last week. I used frozen pie shells, added some lemon juice to the top of the berries before I covered them with the crust and brushed some egg on top instead of milk. My kids loved it. They might just go back and pick some more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Connelly
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Sliwka
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Super easy, super good, and everyone loves it! Was definitely not too labor intensive and it was great. I used some freshly picked blackberries from the field next to my house, added more than just 1/2 cup more over the top, and it was gone in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Sliwka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
What a waste of $18 of fresh berries. WAY too much flour, not enough sugar...dry as paste. Follow another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I tried this last year first time making a fruit pie.It was extremely easy and was SO good :) I loved it the best served warm. This year going to try raspberries ;D I will let you know how it turns out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly_Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hedgesville, West Virginia, USA
Photo by Natalie Marcotte
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Best blackberry pie ever! I made this for my mother in laws birthday and there was also a home made banana cream pie, but it was obvious which pie was favored. I used the butter flakey pie crust recipe from this site, its def the best crust ever. I refuse to make a crust with shortening. anyway, the sugar on top of the crust really makes it amazing! I didnt use the whole quarter cup though. Seemed a little excessive. Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Marcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L-C
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! We cut down the sugar a little bit and it still tasted great! We followed others suggestions re egg on bottom and no problem w/runniness. On top, we used egg and no sugar. We used frozen pie crust on bottom and Brenda's pie crust recipe on top. We loved it. Topping is definitely whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Great pie, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Outstanding! Made as directed, however took into consideration the suggestions from several cooks; added some lemon juice, made sure all fruit was thoroughly coated, and topped with butter before adding top crust. Also brushed bottom crust with egg before adding filling. Husband raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States