Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
After reading the reviews I hope I didn't over do it with the milk and sugar on top. I have never done this particular variation before. I picked the blackberries with my grandsons, as my grandmother did with me many moons ago. I have the pot she always used to pick her berries in. If you fill up the pot it will make two blackberry pies. I can't describe what it means to me to bring my grand kids with me to pick berries using the same pot she did. I don't know when this sort of thing started to mean so much to me but it really does make me happy and proud to know how to make blackberry pies the way she did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whoey21
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe. It is very easy to make and it tastes wonderful. I have a ton of wild blackberry bushes around my house that I use to make this recipe and it always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was incredibly easy. I substituted all brown sugar for the white sugar and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Mills
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
To be perfectly honest I am no domestic goddess but this recipe was so simple and easy to follow that I made my first blackberry pie. It was absolutely delicious and I can wait to make my next one. Was a bit suspicious about why flour was added but realised that this was to thicken the juice :) Brilliant. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Mills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
omg this recipe rocks. I've made a lot of pie's but I have to say this turned out to be the best blackberry pie I ever made. I used my own pie crust but this is worth putting it in my recipe box. thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Worked perfectly. I've tried it with cinnamon and different mixing methods (gently mixing berries with the sugar and flour, or mashing it into more of a liquid). The cinnamon is a good addition, but I'd recommend gently mixing the berries and to avoid mashing them up as much as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin Dignam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Great Recipe. I added butter and lemon juice on top of the berries. I also brushed the crust with a little bit of beaten egg. Again great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Tried this with some blackberries we picked from our backyard last week. I used frozen pie shells, added some lemon juice to the top of the berries before I covered them with the crust and brushed some egg on top instead of milk. My kids loved it. They might just go back and pick some more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Connelly
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autumn Sliwka
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Super easy, super good, and everyone loves it! Was definitely not too labor intensive and it was great. I used some freshly picked blackberries from the field next to my house, added more than just 1/2 cup more over the top, and it was gone in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Sliwka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
What a waste of $18 of fresh berries. WAY too much flour, not enough sugar...dry as paste. Follow another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States