Blackberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
No changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This was my first attempt at a wild berry pie. It thickened up nicely and was surprisingly delicious. I picked 4 cups of black raspberries in my back yard. They might be black berries not sure...either way it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I've never made a blackberry pie, but when a friend brought me 2 pounds of fresh blackberries from her family farm, up in Idaho, I couldn't resist. It was a bit tart but we served it with whip cream or ice cream to offset the tartness. I used my favorite pie crust, passed down from my aunt. The filling seemed a bit runny when I poured it into the pie shell, but it set nicely. I placed a cookie sheet underneath the pie while in the oven because it did spill over a bit. I baked it for about ten extra minutes than the recipe suggested, as it wasn't quite golden brown across the top. I also like to put a tin foil edging around the pie to prevent the edges from burning. I remove the foil the last 15 minutes or so. Don't have pic though, because it was gone within minutes. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyssa, Oregon, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Perfect Recipe AS IS!!! I wouldn't change a thing. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark Hymel
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Awesome! Like others, I used 5 cups of berries, one cup sugar, a forth cup tapioca, a forth cup flour, a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice. I took the advice of those who suggested thoroughly mixing until no dry flour was visible. I used the Pillsbury crust, and went for the lattice top, used egg wash on bottom crust, and top, plus used course sugar on the top crust. After some 20 minutes, I covered the outer edges with a rim of foil and it was the best looking pie I ever made! Cant wait to do it again! - Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Hymel
Photo by Diva
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Squeezed half a Lemon. Followed the Recipe otherwise. Excellent and Coworkers finished it in an hour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenell Dufour
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Loved it!! I just picked a bunch of wild blueberries this afternoon and went home to make a pie. I was a wee worried the berries would be too sour as they are wild and some weren't perfectly ripe. I looked at recipes but most needed cornstarch. This one didn't - so I picked it. Boy I am glad I did. It was perfect. Not runny. Just right:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenell Dufour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mitchell Owens
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Simple and easy yet amazingly delicious. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitchell Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I make this three times a year and it rivals my grandma's apple crumb pie as my favorite! Actually it might be my favorite since I only make grandma's once a year now :) Delicious pie, always turns out! I make it as is, but the recipe is very forgiving. If using frozen berries, thawing them first works best for me, but they can all be thrown together frozen and cook an extra 10-15 or so. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States