Blackberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I had to use Walmart brand FROZEN unsweetened blackberries only because I haven't been able to find fresh blackberry bushes here. I just let them partially thaw out before using them. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. This firmed up perfectly and had the right amount of sweetness with a hint of spice. This is one of the best blackberry jams I've had yet! Next time, I'll try this without the spices (even though I liked it, the family did not). Either way, I bet good money that it will turn out fantastic every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is the BEST jam I've ever had. It has so much flavor and not too sweet. I didn't use the cinnamon and allspice, I just wanted the basics and it turned out great! I also used this jam in a cobbler recipe and it turned out great too. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liwelch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This makes excellent jam! I've only ever made jelly/jam with pectin, so I admit I was a little nervous at first not putting it in. However, the cornstarch thickened it up nicely and the pectin wasn't necessary at all! The only thing I changed was I left out the allspice because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was the easiest jam I have ever made and it was awesome. I had picked two pints of blackberries so I only could make half the recipe. I canned two half-pint jars with half the recipe. I did not use the Allspice b/c I didn't have any. I imagine Vanilla extract or Vanilla bean would be great added to this recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Loved this jam! It was my first jam and this was pretty easy. We used it for toppings for pancakes, cheesecake, toast and also for sandwiches. Next time, we will hold off on the allspice & cinnamon to try for a fresh, berry flavor. Delicious. Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schultz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Appleton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I just made a small batch of this with fresh blackberries and served it over cornbread pancakes from this site. The combination was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
First time making jam since helping my Grandmother 30 years ago, and WOW! I did core the berries first by using a drinking straw. But other then that, I stuck to the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Easy and delicious! The cornstarch thickened up the jam just fine. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made it exactly as written ... great except for the allspice, which gave it a slightly bitter aftertaste. I will try again without that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made this as a topping for a blackberry pie. Very delicious! Make sure you keep stirring constantly though. Don't step away or you might burn the bottom of it because it thickens very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States