Blackberry Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I agree with JHala...I was shocked to see this recipe not set up. I reprocessed it and still no luck. I have fresh picked blackberries that I will be attempting another batch within the next day or two with my own modifications. I will say this the combination of the blackberries and jalapenos is fantastic. I used the failed, but flavorful batch, to poach our awesome local salmon in the oven. My husband LOVED it. I will reply back with what modifications I used to get this recipe to really ROCK. I'm back! Ok just follow this recipe fro Sure-Jell. http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/surejell-blackberry-jelly-52038.aspx Add the jalapenos with the pectin and butter and continue with the Sure-Jell directions. It came out EXCELLENT! I'm off to the store for some cream cheese and crackers...ta-ta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by designfly
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
When I made this recipe and it turned out great. Instead of juicing the berries, though, I pureed them and strained out the seeds. It set up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I have been making jelly for 25 years and have had very few batches fail. I followed the recipe exactly. It did not even thicken up enough to call it syrup. The flavor was great so I will try to reprocess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
RASBERRY JALAPENO JAM - I had quite a few rasberries picked and wanted to make some jam for Christmas gifts - could find no receipe at all so went rogue - followed the receipe on MCP Pectin sheet for rasberry jam, added 6 pretty hot jalapeno's and boy is it great - for a milder jam, add fewer peppers or milder ones. I have discovered it's all in the heat of the pepper. BLACKBERRY JALAPENO JELLY - I followed the receipe - I used 3 jalapeno's - all green with seeds and all - nice kick! It jelled up even before it finished cooling. Used blackberry juice I had juiced the week before - pretty color - can't wait to try with cream cheese. I will use this receipe again! Thanks! (Instead of processing, I turn boiling hot jars upside down for 1-2 minutes, then turn right side up and within 1/2 hour they all sealed.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Love this recipe. Had no trouble with it setting. I did find however that you have to let it boil a bit longer than the recipe reccomends for it to set. Be sure to test it on a cold plate before putting into jars and you won't go wrong. Served this at my mom's birthday party to a discriminating crowd and people were swooning. Delicious with chevre on crackers! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Just made this using Sure-Jell low sugar pectin and it set up before the second boil was even reached! Also I got almost 7 half pints not the 4 1/2 as the recipe says. I added an extra jalapeno but definitely could have added even more for more pepper flavor and heat. Came out looking pretty and very tasty!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATLIZJAMESETHAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Gingerbreadgirlz, I could kiss you!!!! Well maybe a Hug since we have not been introduced. I have been looking for something like this for quite awhile... I usually was able to get something simular to this made by Dantes Inferno from the big boxed stores...I will definately give this a whirl. Thank You Sooo much again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is an AWESOME recipe. The taste is wonderfully sweet and spicy at the same time. my family likes a little spice so i would recommend adding another 1-2 jalepenos. Some reviews said that they had a hard time getting it to set, after adding the 3 1/2 cups sugar i brought it to a hard boil for 2-3 minutes and it set without a problem. Thank you for the recipe it will be one that i use regulary!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgarner4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
It was SO good!!! A must. I might add a extra jalapeño next time, we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I also made this recipe and it didn't set. I reprocessed it using Certo instructions and it turned out well, not as hot as I expected but good. I had to add 4 extra cups of sugar, 1/4 cup lemon juice and I used 2 pouches of liquid certo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States