Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I don't use self-rising flour, so I added 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt to EACH cup of flour needed. I also varied the assembly somewhat: I put the berries in the 9x13 dish, sprinkled a bit of sugar over them, mixed the flour and sugar together, then added the milk and a tsp of vanilla. I melted the 1/2 cup butter and poured it into the batter. A few quick strokes of the spoon to blend it in a little, then I poured it over all the berries, making sure I covered the berries well. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
542 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This recipe is great only if you make changes. First, I don't use self rising flour. to regular flour I added 1 1/2 tsp baking powder for every cup of flour. Plus I added 1/2 tsp salt for every cup of flour. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Also, I but the berries in the bottom of the baking pan. sprinkled some sugar over the berries. I then made the mixture in a seperate bowl and poured it over the berries. I also used 4 or more cups of blackberries. Everybody liked this. with ice cream or whipped topping. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
429 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This is a WONDERFUL recipe! I used Marionberries because they are abundant here in Oregon but just as wonderful as blackberries. If you do not have self rising flour, you can add 1 Tablespoon Baking Powder and 1 1/2 teaspoons Salt to the two cups all purpose flour to make your own self rising flour (sift together). It is clear that the folks who did not like this recipe did not use self rising flour OR overmixed the batter. Mix gently with a fork and leave LOTS of lumps! It really is fast, easy, and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This recipe was super tasty and SO easy! Remember to use self-rising flour (add 1 T baking powder and 1 1/2 tsp salt to All Purpose). This is a KEEPER and we'll be trying it with peaches, etc. as soon as more fruit comes into season this summer. YUMMY! I love recipes that are simple and don't require you to go to the store for ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I don't know what the other reviewers were talking about....this recipe is awesome!! I was almost afraid to try it because of all the bad reviews. I followed the recipe except for 2 minor changes.....added baking powder and salt since I didn't have self-rising flour and I coated my blackberries lightly with sugar before putting them on top of the dough mixture. The cobbler part was nice and fluffy, not chewy at all. I could barely wait for it to cool off before trying. Yum Yum!!! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhappe
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My husband and I enjoyed this for breakfast every day this week! It's a cross between a cobbler and a super-moist coffee cake, in my opinion. Reviewers who found this dish chewy and cornbread-like may have over-mixed, or used all-purpose flour without adding rising agents. Mine turned out delishously moist, berries ended up on the bottom, top was golden brown. My only problem with the recipe is the baking time... my oven is typically slow but this was slightly over done by 45 minutes. So watch closely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Oh my! This was blackberry heaven. I used 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup white flour with 1 tsp. soda and 2 tsp. powder. Also added a dash of cinnamon. I think I would use more next time (cinnamon is a must with blackberries in my opinion). Who knew delicious treats could be so simple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2000
I have used this recipe numerous times and have substituted other fruits. Fresh or frozen. My family and even the neighbors love it! I used 2 cups of regular flour with 1 Tablespoon Baking powder and 1 teaspoon salt. This is an easy recipe for the kids to help with too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I should have read all the reviews before baking. Used regular flour and it did not work at all. Edges are rubbery, middle is gummy - even after an hour in the oven. For such a simple recipe, I mistakenly assumed that regular flour must be self-rising. Would be helpful IMO to put the amounts of regular flour, baking soda or powder and salt in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This batter made the cobbler cake like. It had a good taste, but it was not the texture I was looking for. I was looking for a crispier, flakier, texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States