Blackberry BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I had picked a lot of blackberries and wanted to try something different in addition to all my favorite classic berry recipes. This is definitely a keeper! My son and I love this recipe! Like others suggested, I only added 1 cup of catsup, and since I didn't have dry mustard I used 3 tsp of Dijon mustard. I had slow-cooked some pork to make pulled pork sandwiches and we added the amount of sauce to our liking. I froze the rest and brought it with us to share on our camping trip and it was obvious I didn't make enough. I am very happy with the way it came out, but I am also going to try another reviewers suggestion and see what it's like with garlic and ginger added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce because it was too ketchupy for my taste. Adding more blackberry preserves helped get the flavor closer to what I like. Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
very good and easy. Everyone liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Edward, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
great recipe...we use it on Salmon with less ketchup. It is also great on venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
OMG this is AWESOME, with just a few changes. I used only 1 cup of ketchup, no brown sugar, about 1/4 cup of Bourbon, worcestershire sauce, prepared yellow mustard, cut up two little green onions added some garlic powder and poured it all over pork baby back ribs in my slow cooker. It was not too sweet and a little tangy and you can't beat bourbon for ribs!!!!!!! Can't wait to try them!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was for pulled pork. I didn't have blackberry preserves but I used cherry (so I guess... Cherry BBQ Sauce!) but other than that I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This recipe is delish!!! I make it and then pour over ribs or chops in the slow cooker for about 4 hours. Great recipe, thanks for sharing ,+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyMTeets
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was easy and great! Had this over chicken! I added a bit more brown sugar along with some golden eagle syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
interesting sauce... i used more blackberry fruit spread than called for and less ketchup. also used raspberry vinegar since i was out of red wine vinegar. anxious to see what the family thinks, but i like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I have been looking everywhere for a blackberry sauce; my favorite rib place in North Conway, NH uses a blackberry BBQ and it is out of this world. This fit the bill! I did add a little salt and pepper and onion powder, and used seedless blackberry jam because that was what was available at the grocery store. I added this sauce to the crock pot with a rack of pork baby back ribs and they were fall-off-the-bone delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States