Black Walnut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is a fabulous cake. I have already made it twice and there were no crumbs left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Stanley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Turned out wonderfully. I used 1 cup of black walnuts and it was perfect. Just the right amount! Thanks for q great recipe! Pound cake: Success!! Woohoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I have made it with the walnuts and without...either way, this cake is awesome! This is most definitely my go to cake for events. The recipe is simple and it tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This is the most amazing cake!! I can't count the times I have made it and EVERY time it comes out perfect... the crunchy crust is to die for!! I have requests to make it for other people all the time. Don't change a thing about this recipe, it's sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I made this in two bread pans after reading the review that this cake overflowed a 10 inch tube pan. It was perfect. I frosted it with the Scrumptious Penuche Frosting on this website and topped with more chopped black walnuts. Dad says it's the best black walnut cake, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My family loved this. It was excellent warm with a brown sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
a super superb cake. If you have a blk walnut tree in you yard......you have a pot of gold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I liked this cake, but it seemes a bit dry to me. I like the taste of it though. The frosting makes it very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This cake was wonderful, but I can't imagine it with a cream cheese frosting??? I decided to try a piece first and then decide. I thought it was great just as is. But I will look for a bigger pan next time. I thought it was a 10", but apparently not! It kind of over-flowed in the oven a little. The only thing I will do differently (personal pref.) is cut the sugar back to 2 1/2 cups and see if it is still sweet enough. I'm sure it will be though. I think I might sub marachino cherries for walnuts next time to for something different. Thanks for a great recipe! (I had to give 1/2 away fast or I would have eaten it. That top crust all warm and crispy just out of the oven... oh boy GOOD!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is a fabulous cake. I've made it a number of times and it always goes fast. Only thing I changed was to run the walnuts through the food processor to grind them finely. The cake seems even moister and has a finer texture than leaving them in larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States