Black Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
A tasty use for black walnuts! I didn't have brandy, but Frangelico (hazelnut liqueur) worked very well. Another reviewer mentioned that rolling the balls was a sticky mess, so I dusted my hands with flour before pinching off the dough for each cookie (or two) and I found it really helped get a smooth ball with minimal stickiness. Black walnuts also make an intriguing twist in your favorite chocolate chip recipe, and they make a terrific addition to banana bread. I recommend letting the banana bread rest overnight after baking so the flavors have time to mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Good cookies .. Thanks for share this recipe, I will make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
If you are going to use brandy, black walnuts are the way to go and should not be substituted for English walnuts. There is just a "different" taste about them that pairs really nicely with the brandy. Also, I was lazy and skipped the confectioners' sugar at the end. I don't need cookies to be super sweet, and thought they tasted fine without the extra sugar. This is quite a unique combination and I will definitely be using this recipe again. I just wish black walnuts were a little cheaper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was enjoy by 75% of the family during the holiday's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was excellent! I didn't have Brandy so I used Brandy extract! They are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Made this recipe today with French cognac & the black walnuts...EXCELLENT!!! The cognac compliments the rich distinctive flavor of the black walnuts PERFECTLY! Better than any pecan nut balls I've ever made or ever eaten. Will definitely do regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This cookie wasn't bad. I LOVE black walnuts. I am amazed at how many people in the area I now live have never had them. Anyway, my dough was very sticky and made my hands super messy and the cookies came out with an almost greasy taste but when they sat overnite were much better. I prefer another recipe I found here but wanted to try this one because it was easily made vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEORGESGIRL99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made these cookies for my husband because the recipe sounded like one that his grandmother used to bake for him when he was a little boy. I had to substitute Kahlua for the brandy, but the result was fantastic. This is a simple and delicious cookie. I can't wait to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These were really good! I didn't have brandy so used bourbon instead and it didn't seem to hurt them! Will make a great addition to my holiday goody plates. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States