Black Walnut Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
My family made these cookies years ago and I thought the recipe was gone forever. Thanks for posting it. Very goooood cookies. Glo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I got raves about this recipe from my friends at our cookie exchange. The only difference is that I used walnuts that were already roasted with sugar, salt, and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Easy to put together & taste good too. I thought they would have more maple flavor...the nuts seem to be the prominent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made these cookies and followed the recipe to the letter, they were perfect! I have tried other recipes for black walnut cookies and this one is the best, the texture of the cookie was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I thought these were quite good. I made 1/2 recipe and got 20 cookies. I cut it in two pieces, then, instead of 3 to refridgerate for 1 hour. They remind me of the marriage of a pecan sandie cookie and a soft maple shortbread flavored cookie. They have both a crisp and soft texture. I liked that they weren't too sweet to. I liked them better the next day: They tasted like a big soft version of a windmill cookie without the spicy after taste or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Great recipe, I doubled the maple extract to 1 tsp rather then 1/2. In my first round of cookies I went 1 1/4 cup walnuts but its better with the full 1 1/2 cups as suggested by the default recipe. All and all very well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
my mom wanted me to make these. they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hyrum, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Originally found this recipe on Christmas-Cookies.com about 12 years ago. Have been making them every Christmas. They are a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States