Black Treacle Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Wow! Three thumbs up! Used soft marg instead of butter and delighted my vegan husband. Quick, easy and tasty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These are my favorite scones to make. During the holiday season I add lots of ginger and cloves. Very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Everyone loved these! We made them for St. Pat's day. The only change I made was to add about 4 tbs of sugar. We wanted it a little sweeter. I will probably start making these instead of biscuits. They were moist and flaky and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDRay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was my first real scone recipe to try. I am thrilled with the results. The only thing I did that wasn't in the recipe was make a cinnamon glaze to pour on the top for just a little added sweetness. I didn't think they were heavy but I've only had a scone once before so didn't know what to expect. Since the butter I used had softened up quite a bit when I cut it into the dry, I put the mixture into the fridge for a while to chill before I added the milk. I will def. be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I like the way that if you cover them after baking, they stay soft, while the other ones get crisper. I used 2 cups whole wheat flour, and 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour instead of what was called for, and I needed just a little more milk. They rose nicely! Not sweet, really! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These scones were amazing! I made them for some Irish friends and they loved them. Add a bit more spice and molasses and serve them with butter and apricot preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were great! Not too sweet and very flakey. The recipe was easy and mine did rise nicely. I like triangles as well so I rolled the dough out in one big circle that was at least 1 inch thick and cut into 8 triangles. For those of you who like sweet you could add a little brown sugar or some raisins, or both :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
These scones are very good. I decreased the cinnamon to 1/4 teaspoon for my fiance and they are still very flavorful. Easy to make- I used my KitchenAid mixer with excellent results. A quick favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Payne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Really easy to make and great flavour! I had to add more milk and molasses. Not too sweet at all. Perfect with jam or just butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
These would be incredible for the holidays! They are not sweet at all, I would use them as the bread with a meal. I am considering using them for Thanksgiving. Really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States