Black Treacle Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
A great scone! I scaled the recipe down to eight (8) and it worked wonderfully. The molasses favor is very subtle and I would almost recommend adding more. Would this change the consistency? This is not a sweet scone, so those looking for more sweetness might want to jazz it up a bit. Overall, the scones are light and fluffy and would be delicious with any preserves. Apricot comes to mind immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
the scones didn't have enough flavor - not enough molasses, not enough spice. they were also too dry as is; I added more milk... rather a disappointment....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
These scones are very good. I decreased the cinnamon to 1/4 teaspoon for my fiance and they are still very flavorful. Easy to make- I used my KitchenAid mixer with excellent results. A quick favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Payne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
Best if eaten the day they are baked! Very good topped with maple icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
These scones were amazing! I made them for some Irish friends and they loved them. Add a bit more spice and molasses and serve them with butter and apricot preserves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Wow! Three thumbs up! Used soft marg instead of butter and delighted my vegan husband. Quick, easy and tasty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Everyone loved these! We made them for St. Pat's day. The only change I made was to add about 4 tbs of sugar. We wanted it a little sweeter. I will probably start making these instead of biscuits. They were moist and flaky and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DDRay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I just made these for breakfast, they were very good, but you dont really taste the molasses due to all the spices. I would call them Gingerbread scones.My 6yr old and husband loved them. I will make them again but alter the spices, I used my food processor on the pulse setting and they mixed up fast, baked light and fluffy. I used skim milk,and used 2Tbl molasses but halved all other ingred. they are best eaten right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Really easy to make and great flavour! I had to add more milk and molasses. Not too sweet at all. Perfect with jam or just butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
These would be incredible for the holidays! They are not sweet at all, I would use them as the bread with a meal. I am considering using them for Thanksgiving. Really wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States