Black Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I just wanted to say that, seeing as this recipe has no reviews, that I have had cookies very, very similar to these and they were GREAT! You would never guess they have black pepper in them. I was reluctant to make these at first but I was baking Christmas cookies with my aunt, who had made them before from a recipe in a Mexican cookbook. If this is a good recipe, then these cookies will tun out great. Don't be scared of the pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I was looking for a cookie recipe that I could make to bring somewhere that I could enjoy as well. I'm always watching my weight so i wanted a low fat cookie that didn't taste low fat. I tried this recipe and these cookies are fantastic. This recipe will definately become one of my signature dishes from now on. I couldn't find candied citron so i made my own version by boiling lemon peals and then simmering them in simple syrup (1 c sugar, 1 cup water) for about 20 minutes. Everything turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Out of all the different types of cookies I made for Christmas, these were the most popular. It was good to have a cookie that was a bit different from the rest. Very easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nyack, New York, USA
Living In: Crystal River, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Wicked good. In place of raisins and candied citron, I used what I had at home: dried cranberries, dried apricots and crystallized ginger. I made them for my husband to take on a fishing trip with his friends. They all loved them and one friend said he could eat nothing but these cookies for the rest of his life and be happy. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I own a country market/bakery and was asked by a customer for Black Pepper Cookies for Christmas. I choose this recipe and omitted the citron. Only drizzled icing over the cookies when cooled. These had a great spicey flavor with a crunchy outside but wonderfully soft inside. The customer who ordered them said they were very much like she remembered from her childhood in Germany. Other customers said they will be a cookie that they will ask for again next year when they place their cookie tray orders. Thanks for making my life simpler with this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I have made these at Christmas many times; they are a German recipe, called Pfefferneuse(sp?). I rolled out the dough and cut them into Christmas cookie shapes, then made a decorator frosting and just piped the white frosting around the edges of the cookie just to emphasize the shape and add a bit of sweetness. Always a big hit! A great spicy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Even my husband, who doesn't like fruit in cookies, loves these! I doubled the amount of citron and subbed allspice and nutmeg for the cloves (sadly I discovered halfway through the recipe that I only had whole cloves), and used freshly ground black pepper. In the future I would use 3/4 or even 1 tsp pepper - I loved the aromatic flavor it provided!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow A cookie with no fat that is actually good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Really good cookies. I coudn't taste the pepper in them, but alot of people could. I added a little bit of chocolate chips and not as many raisans as it called for because I was bringing it to a bbq with kids, but they went very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made these and they were fantastic! I omitted the walnuts (not a fan of nuts in cookies) and in lieu of raisins and the citron (couldn't find it in my grocery store, oops) I used dried cherries. My coworkers gobbled them up! These cookies smell absolutely wonderful, also. Next time I make these, I might chop my dried cherries a bit (some pieces seemed too big) and I will chill the dough overnight. I was making these on Tuesday night for the next day and should have re-read the recipe sooner. Had I done this, I would have made the dough on Monday and chilled overnight to bake Tuesday. As it was, I could only chill the dough for an hour and that definitely wasn't enough. I can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States