Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
We used ground beef sirlion, beef broth instead of water, a pinch of salt, Lawry's seasoning salt, Accent seasoning, onions, sesame oil, and added a combination of red and yellow bell peppers. Along with Minute Rice cooked in the remaining beef broth, this meal took at least 10 minutes instead of the five minutes suggested, but a quick meal regardless and very tasty! My hubby said it tasted like a lettuce wrap from PF Chang's ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Looking for a quick meal? This one is fabulous. I recommend, however, cutting the cabbage very thin with a mandolin and using a larger portion of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This was really great and fast. I used green bell peppers. Everyone liked it. The only thing that I did different was that I doubled the recipe and I didn't add as much soy sauce as stated. After it was cooked we added more soy sauce to everyones individual taste. Veg's were still crisp as well. Note: Don't leave a lid on it if you want the veg's crisp. They will sog up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Wow!! SOOO good. I doubled the recipe, and only used one red pepper (actually, it was an orange pepper), and replaced the other pepper with an onion, which I cooked with the garlic and hamburger. Per other reviewers’ suggestions, I used a generous amount of salt (thoroughly ground into the thoroughly-ground-up hamburger meat, of course). My only beef (pun intended) with the recipe is that the purported total cooking and prep time is fifteen minutes (LOL)!! It’s more like an HOUR and fifteen minutes!! This goes very well with this sesame green beans recipe (http://sidedish.allrecipes.com/az/SsmGrnBns.asp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wickes, Arkansas, USA
Living In: South Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was just OK. Personally I didn't like the taste of ground beef in a stir fry. Would prefer to make this with strips of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was so wonderful! We couldn't stop eating it. I used ground round, so I didn't have to drain any grease off. I added a cube of beef bouillon, 1/2 tsp or so of onion powder, and substituted hot oil, otherwise followed as directed. Served this with Puerto Rican steamed rice. This is so delicious and so economical too! Thank you Pearlie for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Excellent! I really enjoyed this. I adjusted the recipe for what I had on hand and double it with the exception of the bell pepper. I used ground turkey and added a beef bullion cube and 2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture to give it more of a beef flavor. I also added some diced onion, sauted them with the bell pepper and served it over Jasmine rice. Yummy! This recipe was so fast and easy... great for week nights. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Isleton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I wasn't sure how well we would like this recipe just as it was, but it turned out very good. I did add some hot chile oil and added an orange bell pepper with the red. I made double the sauce since we lke stir fry saucy. I will definitely make this again and may add broccoli nex time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was my most adventurous attempt to date, and I am happy to say it was a hit! I took advice from some other reviewers, and added some spices, and a little more soy...but overall it was tasty and quick! Hubby liked it, and baby girl is still eating her serving with gusto. Thanks for the great quick recipe Perlie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Fast & easy! I added 2 T Oyster Sauce for a little added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States