Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Absolutely loved this Recipe. It was restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I prepared this in my wok. I salted and browned the ground beef first, removed it, and poured off the oil. I added half a chopped onion to the recipe and stir fried until softened. After the onions were softened, I added in the garlic and about a teaspoon of fresh grated ginger. I like black pepper so I used 1 ½ teaspoons of coarse ground pepper. Then I added the cabbage and stir fried it for 3-4 minutes. I added in two tablespoons of water and the soy sauce, lowered the heat and covered the wok to let the cabbage steam to soften it to al dente, about 3 minutes. I placed the ground beef back into the wok and tossed it with the other ingredients. I didn't have a fresh red bell pepper so I used jarred and added those in after the ground beef, tossing just to mix them in. I omitted the cornstarch and ½ cup of water completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I think this would have been better if I had a wok to cook it in. And next time I would add some chopped ginger or ground ginger powder. It needed some flavor. I plan to make again and tweak according to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I doubled this recipe and cheated a little bit. Instead of shredding a cabbage (I'm lazy and have no interest in shredding a cabbage myself), I used a bag of cole slaw cabbage mix. I also used a green pepper instead of red. Overall, I think this was a decent recipe. I think it could have used more black pepper. Since it's in the title of the recipe, I expected it to stand out more than it actually did. I also didn't think there was enough soy sauce. If making it again, I'd use a lot more of that and less water. The ground beef does give it a different flavor/texture and it probably would be better with some sort of beef strips. But for economics sake, the ground beef was fine. I would make this again, with the few changes I mentioned. It was cheap and easy and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This was okay. I think it would have been good if I had listened to some of the other reviews. Ground beef just doesn't work as a stir fry. Steak would have been better. It needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This recipe needs some work. I had to do some major CPR to get a taste of flavor. I totally agree with the reviews that say this lacks flavor. There is no way that just soy sauce and garlic cloves can season plain ground beef and add flavor to the veggies. I added so much additional seasoning to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This one is a keeper. Not only is it quick, but it is very tasty. The only change I made was to use beef broth instead of water with the cornstarch. I also tossed sliced scallions in just before serving. Thanks for a quick and delicious weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Outside of using yellow pepper and adding 2T. oyster sauce we followed this completely and while it was good and will be used again, it was a little bland and slightly greasy. Next time we'll try adding sesame oil instead of oyster sauce and will drain the beef before adding the vegetables. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This just needed something. It was good and easy to make and a meal right up my alley, but just lacked flavor. I used ground chicken and a couple of hot italian sausage (crumbled out of its casing) instead of beef. Loved the caggage in it. Needed extra soy sauce. Added corn and used beef broth instead of water. Will prob make again, but will amp up the seasoning and try it with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States