Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This stuff tastes GREAT served with white rice and a little bit more soy sauce drizzled over it. I've made this two or three times now! Love it! I can't remember if it says to add onion or not but I always put onion in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I made this even though my husband was against the cabbage. I added an onion, Worcestershire sauce, substituted ground turkey, and doubled the cabbage. Served it over jasmine rice. My husband just loved it and now asks me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omak, Washington, USA
Living In: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The pepper taste was a lot stronger in this dish than I thought it'd be. I had trouble getting the sauce to thicken so it turned out sort of watery, but was still a big hit. I added some sliced carrots to the mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I added a spoonful of hoisin sauce and some chili/garlic sauce for some zing. 1 lb. of ground chuck and a pre chopped package of coleslaw mix. Put the cabbage at the end of recipe to keep some crunch. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I found this recipe to be 100% authentic as if I were eating it in China. I don't mean americanized Chinese. I mean real Chinese. One thing I did differently, I added a whole head of cabbage as opposed to 1/2 since I wanted more veggies. I also added top round steak instead of ground beef. Overall, 4 out of 5 stars. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hattie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I thought this was great, but I did make some adjustments. I added 1 Tbl. minced fresh ginger with the garlic, which was key to the authentic flavor. I used 1 pkg. thin strips of beef instead of ground beef, as others suggested. I used a bag of chopped cabbage as a timesaver (would definitely do that again!). Next time I will marinate the beef overnight in some oil and soy sauce to make it more tender (it was still tough even thought it was wafer-thin, and I didn't over cook it). Just as a personal preference, I will double the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
It was ok. It didn't have as much flavor as I was hoping. If I make it again I think I'll add some fresh chopped ginger because it just seemed to need something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I doubled the recipe but put in much more black pepper than called for as I didn't think the amount in the recipe was enough. With that tweak and adding a little sweet soy sauce, it was a tasty and simple dinner for a busy weekday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
very tasty stir fry... I am not sure if I really like using ground beef in a stir fry but this still turned out good... very cheap and easy to make.. I doubled the recipe... and added an onion instead of a a second bell pepper... also I used beef broth instead of water.. next time I might try using thinly sliced beef instead of hamburger... very peppery... good flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made several changes to this recipe - however as written I am sure Grumpy would have liked it better. I changed up the sauce some and spiced it up with black bean chili sauce. I totally LOVED it. I am big on peppers and spice. I think next time I will have to forgo the spice for Grumpy and go with the amount of peppers in the recipe. I guess this was more for me than him since he's not a pepper fan either but I was craving beef cabbage and peppers and this recipe came up first in my search!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States