Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
very tasty stir fry... I am not sure if I really like using ground beef in a stir fry but this still turned out good... very cheap and easy to make.. I doubled the recipe... and added an onion instead of a a second bell pepper... also I used beef broth instead of water.. next time I might try using thinly sliced beef instead of hamburger... very peppery... good flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made several changes to this recipe - however as written I am sure Grumpy would have liked it better. I changed up the sauce some and spiced it up with black bean chili sauce. I totally LOVED it. I am big on peppers and spice. I think next time I will have to forgo the spice for Grumpy and go with the amount of peppers in the recipe. I guess this was more for me than him since he's not a pepper fan either but I was craving beef cabbage and peppers and this recipe came up first in my search!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Fantastic! Very easy and the cabbage adds just enough "crunch" texture!!! Wish it made more servings, but will double next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Used green pepper instead of red because I had it on hand. As I was preparing I was thinking my grandson is not going to eat this (he's funny about the way things "look") but he CLEANED his plate. I served it over rice and it was pretty good. When I make it again, I will definitely "spice" it up as it was a little bland. Not sure what the 1/2 t. cornstarch did, it didn't seem to thicked at all. I also liked the idea of adding broccoli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
OMG This was so good! The only thing I changed was to make w/left over pork instead of the burger. Easy, good, and bonus the kids ate it right up! I am actually going to make again tonight w/ steak... can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I really liked this dish, it is quick and tasty. I did, however, make the ground beef in another pan making sure there were large chunks of meat, then I added it to the pepper and cabbage mixture and gently stirred it in making sure not to break the meat up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudysfavorites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Yum! Doubled the recipe - did not use the cornstarch. This is a good base recipe. You do need to ADD some additional seasonings - like ginger, chinese allspice, paprika, etc. Also, don't be afraid to add more cabbage, mushrooms, etc. This turned out great for us and makes a ton. Will make again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Was not a tasty dish. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
We thought this recipe was pretty good, not spectacular but all right. Since I all ready had to defrost a pound of ground beef I went on ahead and used the whole pound and a whole head of the cabbage. I doubled the water and cornstarch mixture too, but didn't want the soy sauce to overwhelm the dish so I left that at the 2T. Turned out much more filling than I thought it would and we have plenty leftover for the next couple of days. The prep time does take longer than the 15 minutes stated, but it's still pretty easy to prepare. I thought this would have more flavor than it did, but still tasted good. Not sure if I would make again, but it does make for a very easy dinner that doesn't take a whole lot of time. Thanks for the recipe, LI-ANN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Did the recipe as directions said but added fresh mushrooms and sweet onion. Family said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States