Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have to be honest, I didn't notice that this was a ground beef recipe until I read a 3 star review of it. I used strips of beef precut for stir fry at the grocery store, and was sadly out of red pepper. I also live with someone who has some very strict requirements sodium-wise in her diet. That means that this had too much soy sauce for me to safely prepare, and I had to substitute worcestershire sauce instead. It was really fantastic, and I don't even like cabbage! I used bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The recipe says 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. You will need quite a bit more than that! Also, reduce the amount of water you use or increase the amount of cornstarch. My boyfriend loved it, I thought it was good, but not great. It works with the hamburger which surprised me.Its a good base recipe, and you can play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Uher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This stuff tastes GREAT served with white rice and a little bit more soy sauce drizzled over it. I've made this two or three times now! Love it! I can't remember if it says to add onion or not but I always put onion in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I made this even though my husband was against the cabbage. I added an onion, Worcestershire sauce, substituted ground turkey, and doubled the cabbage. Served it over jasmine rice. My husband just loved it and now asks me to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omak, Washington, USA
Living In: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The pepper taste was a lot stronger in this dish than I thought it'd be. I had trouble getting the sauce to thicken so it turned out sort of watery, but was still a big hit. I added some sliced carrots to the mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I added a spoonful of hoisin sauce and some chili/garlic sauce for some zing. 1 lb. of ground chuck and a pre chopped package of coleslaw mix. Put the cabbage at the end of recipe to keep some crunch. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I found this recipe to be 100% authentic as if I were eating it in China. I don't mean americanized Chinese. I mean real Chinese. One thing I did differently, I added a whole head of cabbage as opposed to 1/2 since I wanted more veggies. I also added top round steak instead of ground beef. Overall, 4 out of 5 stars. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hattie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I thought this was great, but I did make some adjustments. I added 1 Tbl. minced fresh ginger with the garlic, which was key to the authentic flavor. I used 1 pkg. thin strips of beef instead of ground beef, as others suggested. I used a bag of chopped cabbage as a timesaver (would definitely do that again!). Next time I will marinate the beef overnight in some oil and soy sauce to make it more tender (it was still tough even thought it was wafer-thin, and I didn't over cook it). Just as a personal preference, I will double the sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
It was ok. It didn't have as much flavor as I was hoping. If I make it again I think I'll add some fresh chopped ginger because it just seemed to need something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I doubled the recipe but put in much more black pepper than called for as I didn't think the amount in the recipe was enough. With that tweak and adding a little sweet soy sauce, it was a tasty and simple dinner for a busy weekday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 41-50 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States